BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2010, 02:58 PM   #1
AFCEA
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
AFCEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Model: 9650
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 25
Default 3G on Sprint using 9650

Please Login to Remove!

My work phone is the Sprint 9650. It only shows 1XEV next to the signal bars. Sprints says the phone is 3G. I have my personal phone as the Verizon 9650 and it shows the 3G on the screen. I'm in a 3G Sprint market. Am I missing something?
Offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 03:09 PM   #2
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default

Yes.
1XEV is 3G.
Its merely the theme that makes it display as "3G".
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 03:23 PM   #3
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

Agree with Ms. Midnight. 1XEV is the CDMA version of GSM 3G. Just as fast in most cases, however you can't have simultaneous voice and data using EVDO as you can on a GSM 3G network.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 08-17-2010, 07:13 PM   #4
rramctd
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
Model: 9780
OS: 6.0.0.448
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 85
Default

I have a 9630 and it say 1XEV, and my sons 9700 says 3G, both with telus here in Canada. I didn't think the tour 9630 could use 3G. or maybe it just can't use it fully?
__________________
Reg
Bold 9780
Offline  
Old 08-17-2010, 07:16 PM   #5
Motorcycle Mama
BlackBerry Master
 
Motorcycle Mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1.0.163
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 4,351
Default

Oh my goodness .....

1XEV IS 3G

It is. It is. It can "use it fully".

How is it displayed on the device is merely cosmetic! The functionality is EXACTLY the same.

1XEV IS 3G
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

ZONARE P4-1 IP7X TRANSDUCER / PROBE
$89.99
ZONARE P4-1  IP7X TRANSDUCER / PROBE pictureICM380 Transducer with Shrader Deflator for ICM333 and ICM330
$58.75
ICM380 Transducer with Shrader Deflator for ICM333 and ICM330 pictureDynisco TA204 Strain Gage/ Transducer Amplifier - B1
$149.0
Dynisco TA204 Strain Gage/ Transducer Amplifier - B1 pictureBellofram, 961-070-000, T-1000 Pressure Transducer 4-20 mA 3-15 PSI
$99.99
Bellofram, 961-070-000, T-1000 Pressure Transducer 4-20 mA 3-15 PSI pictureSonosite C60n Transducer fo Nanomaxx System
$2700.0
Sonosite C60n Transducer fo Nanomaxx System picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.