BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2010, 08:11 AM   #1
Maria G
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: dont know
Posts: 6
Unhappy Cant set up an email account:(

Please Login to Remove!

I want to set up my private email account at my phone but the option "I want to create or add an email adress" is missing...
I only have the option ""I want to use a work email account with a Blackberry Enterprise Server"

Please what am I doing wrong not finding how to create a private email account?
Offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 08:27 AM   #2
devnull
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: I747
OS: 4.1.1
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 2,339
Default

do you have a blackberry data plan?
__________________
The Search tool and BlackBerryFAQ answer many questions.
Offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 08:28 AM   #3
Maria G
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: dont know
Posts: 6
Default

I just got this phone and I am not familiar with it yet...So what is a data plan?
Offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 08:30 AM   #4
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default

Its a plan from your carrier that allows you to use data = email, internet, apps that connect to the internet.

You need a blackberry data plan from your carrier to setup email on a blackberry.
Call your carrier.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 08:40 AM   #5
Maria G
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: dont know
Posts: 6
Default

Oh? But it says in the instructions that the option for setting up a personal emailaccount should be there. It says nothing about contacting the "carrier"? By carrier do you mean the provider for my mobile? I can access internet and all other options fine with my phone, so those should be ok...
Offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 09:24 AM   #6
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default

Yes, they say that option should be there, because you should have a blackberry data plan.
Yes a carrier is the network you are on.
Do you have lower case or upper case gprs/edge in the right hand corner?
lower case = no data plan
upper case = data plan

However it needs to be a blackberry data plan, not a regular data plan.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 09:55 AM   #7
TheRinger
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Everett WA
Model: 4
OS: iOS4
PIN: Whats a pin? lol
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 582
Default

Just to add, the instructions assume the carrier educates the customer and adds the appropriate BLACKBERRY data plan before the customer leaves.

When they dont, this is what happens
Offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 06:35 PM   #8
Maria G
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: dont know
Posts: 6
Default

It says "gprs" in lowercase letters. So I guess no blackberry dataplan. I'll call the provider tomorrow. Tks guys for explaining!
Offline  
Old 07-23-2010, 04:32 PM   #9
Maria G
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: dont know
Posts: 6
Default

Ok I got the data plan and it works as a charm This is truly the best phone I have ever had now that I get to understand how it works. Tks again for your help!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

GE, General Electric IC610CPU101C CPU W/1K RAM Module T97120
$40.0
GE, General Electric IC610CPU101C CPU W/1K RAM Module T97120 pictureGE, General Electric IC610CPU105A CPU W/1K Ram Module T97106
$35.0
GE, General Electric IC610CPU105A CPU W/1K Ram Module T97106 pictureGE General Electric IC610CPU101C CPU W/1K Ram Module T49150
$70.0
GE General Electric IC610CPU101C CPU W/1K Ram Module T49150 pictureOMNI VIEW BELKIN JYXCS-102 2 STATION CPU SWITCH SERIAL PS/2 VGA PC KVM POWER
$9.99
OMNI VIEW BELKIN JYXCS-102 2 STATION CPU SWITCH SERIAL PS/2 VGA PC KVM POWER picture5Pcs 40x40x11mm Anodized Aluminium Heatsink Thermal Adhesive Pads Tool For CPU
$3.69
5Pcs 40x40x11mm Anodized Aluminium Heatsink Thermal Adhesive Pads Tool For CPU picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.