Old 07-03-2008, 10:09 AM   #1
kleake
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: USCellular
Default Audio drops with background noise

Please Login to Remove!

I use mine as a GPS and mp3 player while riding my motorcycle. I just switched to the curve from a Nokia so i'm still learning. This issue I have is while listening to mp3's through the ear buds that came with it, as I start going down the highway the audio will drop completely, then come back. I thought it might be vibration, but I have eliminated that. All I can figure is there is enough background wind noise that is effecting something and causing the audio to drop for a few seconds. It's so bad, that above 60, I might as well not even have it on. At about 30 or so, it only does it once in a while, but it's a huge pain. I plan to use it while mowing as well, and can see that not happening either. Any ideas?
Old 07-03-2008, 02:58 PM   #2
kerph32
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T

Does it happen with a different set of headphones?
Old 07-03-2008, 03:01 PM   #3
kleake

I don't have another set of headphones to try, but I did get a little more info on my last test ride. What it does is switch to the speaker instead of headset. I can see the volume in the media player change presets and a couple of times I could hear it playing from the handset although with my helmet on going down the road it was difficult to hear.
Old 07-03-2008, 05:31 PM   #4
greggebhardt
No longer Registered.

Model: 9000!
PIN: NOT!

Is this possibly part of the Blackberry noise cancelling system at work!
Old 07-03-2008, 06:23 PM   #5
kleake

Ok, tried standard ear buds without a mic and they work perfect. I don't know about the noise cancelling,,,, can you fill me in? Somewhere in the menus I saw a place for an auto volume or somethingrather. It was disabled, but now I can't seem to find it in the menu.
Old 07-03-2008, 09:04 PM   #6
PCgirl
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: iP 4S