BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2005, 06:44 PM   #1
birjup
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 5290
Posts: 5
Default How to access blackberry browser on Cingular 7290?

Please Login to Remove!

All I seem to see is the cingular browser-- like any wap browser on jave/wap enabled phones.

Secondly is ther a good AOL instand messenger, Ive heard of IM+.

Thanks
Offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:10 PM   #2
mdgolf
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA
Model: 7290
Posts: 5
Default

Hey..I'm having the same issue...

And I can't even connect using the cingular browser.

what's the deal?
Offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:42 PM   #3
macberry12
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
macberry12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: in the Lone Star state
Model: 8100
Carrier: Cingular now AT&T
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdgolf
Hey..I'm having the same issue...

And I can't even connect using the cingular browser.

what's the deal?

I had to call Customer Call Care (used to be ATTWS before it was Cingular...now Cingular sold my area to Cellular One...a billing nightmare to say the least!)....and the rep had to install the BB browser. Once he did that, I was able to surf the net. Took abt 25-30 minutes on the phone with the tech.

But...now I am having problems receiving Email....can send them..and the message appear on the WebClient but not on my 7290. Called CustCare again, and they said it was a problem in our area with email service. Said it may take an hour or so to fix....it's been nearly 4 hrs...So..I shall call them back again tomorrow.

Let us know if you get it resolved.
Offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 09:26 PM   #4
Grimlin
CrackBerry Addict
 
Grimlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Signal Mountain, TN
Model: K1
PIN: Positive Intrinsic Negative???
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 728
Default

The "Blackberry Browser" only shows up if you have the service book from the BES (Blackberry Enterprise Server). You probably are on the BIS (Blackberry Internet Server) from the carrier and only have the carrier browser. If you are on a corporate BES, your BESAdmin will need to enable you for MDS and verify there are no ITPolicy restrictions against it.
__________________
KEYone
Classic,Q10,Z10,9900,9670,9810,9800,9700,
8220,9000,8820,8800,7270,8700c,7290,7230,
7510,6510,5810,957,857,950
Offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 10:26 PM   #5
rsun
CrackBerry Addict
 
rsun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Delaware, USA
Model: 8320
Carrier: at&t/T-Mobile/Verizon
Posts: 747
Default

For my TMobile I can also log into the BlackBerry Web Client and under options I have a button to send the internet browser service book, have you checked if you have this button?
__________________
Richard Sun
[email address]
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:15 PM   #6
Grimlin
CrackBerry Addict
 
Grimlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Signal Mountain, TN
Model: K1
PIN: Positive Intrinsic Negative???
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 728
Default

When I was TMo, I had this too. On last check, my Cingular WebClient only resends the email service book. I would think his is the same too.
__________________
KEYone
Classic,Q10,Z10,9900,9670,9810,9800,9700,
8220,9000,8820,8800,7270,8700c,7290,7230,
7510,6510,5810,957,857,950
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 03:01 PM   #7
mdgolf
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA
Model: 7290
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks all...so to clarify...

If not on a BES, then the Cingular browser is the only option? The Cingular browser launches Media Net. I'm assuming this is covered as part of the BB unlimited data plan ($44.95), or will I be charged seperately for using this browser?

I'm in SF Bay Area
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:04 PM   #8
Grimlin
CrackBerry Addict
 
Grimlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Signal Mountain, TN
Model: K1
PIN: Positive Intrinsic Negative???
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 728
Default

It should be covered under that plan. What is not covered (I found out the hard way) is using your device as a modem for your laptop. :(
__________________
KEYone
Classic,Q10,Z10,9900,9670,9810,9800,9700,
8220,9000,8820,8800,7270,8700c,7290,7230,
7510,6510,5810,957,857,950
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:17 PM   #9
birjup
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 5290
Posts: 5
Default

I have called in requested the internet service browser book, the bb browser, everything and 3 times after holding so much they have refused to accept that they can push it to me. -- The bb browser that is. Any other suggestions..
Offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 05:27 AM   #10
Grimlin
CrackBerry Addict
 
Grimlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Signal Mountain, TN
Model: K1
PIN: Positive Intrinsic Negative???
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 728
Default

Not the "Blackberry Browser". They are correct in that. What you want is the "Internet Browser" Service Book. See this similar thread: http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=10450
__________________
KEYone
Classic,Q10,Z10,9900,9670,9810,9800,9700,
8220,9000,8820,8800,7270,8700c,7290,7230,
7510,6510,5810,957,857,950
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.