BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2008, 03:25 PM   #1
Skinhead
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 2
Unhappy blackberry virgin

Please Login to Remove!

hello everyone!
its my first time using a blackberry and its definitely a very unfamiliar territory for me. I have the Bold and i have a few queries:
1. does it come preloaded with maps? i tried clicking the network navigator software but it always says "network setting error". tried downloading from the website, however it doesnt recognize the handset,ie. wrong version.
2.i bought an unlocked unit, hence the settings have to be manually configured. tried downlaoding from my carrier, but it says it cant configure the fone. are there any guides as to how?
3.i have configured the wifi bit, however i cant configure how to set the 3G bit? how do i get around it?
4. i havent changed the OS version yet...is it a must that i upgrade?
5. bluetooth is playing up as well. it can detect the other device but unable to receive anything
Thanks for ur help!
Offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 03:35 PM   #2
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

1. Do you see BlackBerry Maps loaded as an icon, in a folder, or Options > Advanced > Applications?
2. Tried downloading what from your carrier?
4. Not a must, but many recommend it. See the Latest OS "Attention" sticky note at the top of this 9000 section.
5. Not sure. What is your other device? Earpiece, auto, or what? Another PDA or phone device is not configurable in bluetooth.
Offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 03:46 PM   #3
greggebhardt
No longer Registered.
 
greggebhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FLorida
Model: 9000!
PIN: NOT!
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,762
Default

Hi Skinhead,

Did you get a Blackberry Plan?

You should not need it for WiFi but for mor ethe rest a plan is really needed.
Offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 04:15 PM   #4
Skinhead
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 2
Default

i was trying to connect it my SE K800 to transfer contacts and other stuff. so are you saying it cant be done?
I am under a contract with O2 here in the UK. tried downloading the settings from my carrier however an error always pops up.
there are no maps icon, only the carrier's navigator icon is present, however opening it returns an error msg again.
Offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 04:46 PM   #5
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Last I recall, you can't transfer your contacts via Bluetooth.
Offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 05:05 PM   #6
greggebhardt
No longer Registered.
 
greggebhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FLorida
Model: 9000!
PIN: NOT!
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinhead View Post
i was trying to connect it my SE K800 to transfer contacts and other stuff. so are you saying it cant be done?
I am under a contract with O2 here in the UK. tried downloading the settings from my carrier however an error always pops up.
there are no maps icon, only the carrier's navigator icon is present, however opening it returns an error msg again.
What is the error message?
Offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 05:19 PM   #7
Cory Scheuer
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.199
Carrier: None
Posts: 2,622
Default

i would try using the switch device wizard on the desktop manager to see if you can transfer contacts over from the SE to the BB
Offline  
Old 09-15-2008, 02:33 AM   #8
prescottspies
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 47
Default

If it's just contacts, you could copy them all from your old phone to the sim, then insert the sim into your BB and copy them across. That's what I did, I was surprised to find that the BB Bold I bought on orange contract works with my old 3 sim.

Edit as far as maps are concerned, seems carriers are into the practice of replacing blackberry maps with proprietary software that you have to pay for. Mine came preinstalled with a trial of carphone warehouse's maps software, that seems to have somehow assimilated itself with BB Maps (if I go into the list of installed applications, BB Maps is there, but the mapping icon just takes me into CPW navigator.

There are however plenty of free GPS maps packages out there, google maps just to name one. I would suggest trying a few out to see what fits.

Last edited by prescottspies; 09-15-2008 at 02:35 AM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

ABB A16-40-00-80 240V Coil
$34.0
ABB A16-40-00-80 240V Coil pictureASEA EG40-1 COIL 110/120V CLEANED TESTED
$34.95
ASEA EG40-1 COIL 110/120V CLEANED TESTED pictureABB A9-30-10 1SBL141001R8410 Contactor Coil 110/110-120VAC (17423)
$24.99
ABB A9-30-10 1SBL141001R8410 Contactor Coil 110/110-120VAC (17423) pictureSiemens 3RH1122-1BB40 22E Contactors DC24V Coil & 3RT1916-1BB00 Surge Suppressor
$29.99
Siemens 3RH1122-1BB40 22E Contactors DC24V Coil & 3RT1916-1BB00 Surge Suppressor pictureYohii DC12V Coil 8 Pins Electromagnetic Power Relay with Socket Base 2pcs
$11.0
Yohii DC12V Coil 8 Pins Electromagnetic Power Relay with Socket Base 2pcs picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.