BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2007, 02:48 PM   #1
chriscib
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 7100g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 6
Default Hi blackberry 7100g won't take my sim card

Please Login to Remove!

Hi all. I just aquired a 7100g that my uncle brought over from abroad, we don't have them here, or at least that I know of. Anyway, when we put our local carriers' sim card in, it says invalid sim card, and when we try to scan for network, it says Scan for networks failed, try again later. Any ideas pls?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT3984.JPG
Views:	27
Size:	90.7 KB
ID:	8201  
Offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 03:18 PM   #2
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

It sounds like it is SIM card locked....
Go into Options / Advanced / SIM card
Type meppd

A menu should appear; everything should read "Disabled". In Network shows "Active" it means the BB is locked and you must get it unlocked to use.
Offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 03:44 PM   #3
chriscib
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 7100g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 6
Default

Hi, thanks for replying to my post. Yes unfortunatly it says active on networks. Can i unlock it?
Offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 03:50 PM   #4
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

Contact one of the commercial unlockers like GSMPhoneSource.Com or one of the sponsors here who do unlocks.
Offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 04:39 PM   #5
chriscib
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 7100g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 6
Default

ok thanks. i'll do that
Offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 08:19 AM   #6
muzars
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 7100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: director
Posts: 6
Default

in my hand set is
sim disabled
network active
network subset disabled
service provider disabled
corporate disabled
how to active this option please tell me i am new user
Offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 08:28 AM   #7
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

muzars, scroll up to post #4 from NJBlackberry and read what he said.
Offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 09:11 AM   #8
muzars
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 7100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: director
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
muzars, scroll up to post #4 from NJBlackberry and read what he said.
sir i have already use furious-Gold for code reading but that not read and one of my firend say to me flash it when i flash it then he say french file not available what shoud i do please help me
Offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 09:23 AM   #9
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Muzar--Do you want to unlock your BlackBerry for use on another Carrier?

Or do you want to install a different OS (Operating System) on the BlackBerry?
Offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 07:06 AM   #10
muzars
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 7100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: director
Posts: 6
Default

need flash file for 7100g brother
Offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 07:56 AM   #11
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

It is apparent that you actually need to have your BB unlocked (to work on a different carrier than purchased from).

But if you want a "flash" file then go get yourself a "flash" file.

Good luck.
Offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 11:14 AM   #12
china_user
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 7100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ChinaMobile
Posts: 3
Default unlocking my 7100

I have an unlock code from Cingular and the Cingular rep told me to power on with the non-Cingular SIM but I don't see where I can enter the code. With this SIM (a working ChinaMobile SIM card) I get an error message under settings/options/SIM Card that reads "No valid SIM card". With the SIM card that came with the phone in the USA, the message reads "SIM Card: Security Disabled". But again, unclear to me where to enter the unlock code.
Please advise.
Offline  
Old 06-09-2007, 06:18 PM   #13
shookie
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 7100g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cellone
Posts: 1
Default sim not registering idk plz hlp me

hi i just got the 7100g and ide like to use it for cell one the person i baught it from says its unlocked and i followed the instructions like the other guy says and were it says network after i typed in meppd it says inactive for network so wat now ??????? plz hlp
Offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 03:35 PM   #14
jham37
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 7100t
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-moble to AT&T
Posts: 2
Unhappy 'no valid SIM'

Quote:
Originally Posted by china_user View Post
I have an unlock code from Cingular and the Cingular rep told me to power on with the non-Cingular SIM but I don't see where I can enter the code. With this SIM (a working ChinaMobile SIM card) I get an error message under settings/options/SIM Card that reads "No valid SIM card". With the SIM card that came with the phone in the USA, the message reads "SIM Card: Security Disabled". But again, unclear to me where to enter the unlock code.
Please advise.
I have the same problem, but in a different context. I was planning on migrating from T-Mobile to AT&T because T-Mobile's coverage is lousy where I am in US. The 7100t I had used in UK and Viet Nam, but it refused to recognize an Orange SIM in France. AT&T said if the device is unlocked, it is unlocked, no problem put our SIM in. When I did, it said 'no valid SIM' -- everybody figured it really is still locked, and one T-Mobile person said use it again on our network after using it overseas, it gets locked again. No, I finally get to a tech person at T-Mobile who really sounds like she knows her stuff, she says once unlocked, stays that way unless you go in with a new code to lock it again. But -- although I have unlock instructions from T-Mobile -- I can't get to the SIM card to use them; the device says 'no valid SIM card' whatever I put in [if I put the old, now inactive, T-Mobile SIM in it says 'SIM card rejected.'] T-Mobile now say, probably a hardware problem -- but pretty odd that it happened when we took the T-Mobile SIM out and put the AT&T one in, don't you think? Anyone got any ideas, or do I have to buy a new BlackBerry? This device is long out of warranty.
Offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 07:35 AM   #15
jham37
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 7100t
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-moble to AT&T
Posts: 2
Smile Problem resolved

Quote:
Originally Posted by jham37 View Post
I have the same problem, but in a different context. I was planning on migrating from T-Mobile to AT&T because T-Mobile's coverage is lousy where I am in US. The 7100t I had used in UK and Viet Nam, but it refused to recognize an Orange SIM in France. AT&T said if the device is unlocked, it is unlocked, no problem put our SIM in. When I did, it said 'no valid SIM' -- everybody figured it really is still locked, and one T-Mobile person said use it again on our network after using it overseas, it gets locked again. No, I finally get to a tech person at T-Mobile who really sounds like she knows her stuff, she says once unlocked, stays that way unless you go in with a new code to lock it again. But -- although I have unlock instructions from T-Mobile -- I can't get to the SIM card to use them; the device says 'no valid SIM card' whatever I put in [if I put the old, now inactive, T-Mobile SIM in it says 'SIM card rejected.'] T-Mobile now say, probably a hardware problem -- but pretty odd that it happened when we took the T-Mobile SIM out and put the AT&T one in, don't you think? Anyone got any ideas, or do I have to buy a new BlackBerry? This device is long out of warranty.
Update: This problem essentially resolved itself; suddenly the device chose to recognize [the inactive] T-Mobile SIM, turned out the device was still locked [bit mysterious, several T-Mobile people told me it couldn't be given I'd used it overseas with foreign SIMs], and the T-Mobile unlocking code and instructions worked, unlocked the device, and it now works happily with the AT&T SIM -- and I trust with foreign ones overseas. My only hypothesis is that the SIMs were not correctly seated -- I'd taken the T-Mobile SIM out, put the AT&T one in, then back again to use the device as PDA, several times because of T-Mobile advice, and seating them in the 7100t is a bit awkward compared to some devices -- but that seems a bit of a stretch. But to the originator of this thread, try taking the SIM out and putting it back in a few times -- maybe you will get lucky.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Genuine Sealed OEM Post-It Gold Apple Pop-Up Note Dispenser for 3 x 3-Inch Notes
$195.59
Genuine Sealed OEM Post-It Gold Apple Pop-Up Note Dispenser for 3 x 3-Inch Notes picture6 Foot 2M OEM Apple iPhone XS XR X 8/7/6S Long USB Charger Data Cable cord White
$6.5
6 Foot 2M OEM Apple iPhone XS XR X 8/7/6S Long USB Charger Data Cable cord White pictureApple Computer AMI 342-0135-A '82 1982 IC Integrated Circuit OEM - New NOS
$11.99
Apple Computer AMI 342-0135-A '82 1982  IC Integrated Circuit OEM - New NOS pictureApple Computer AMI 342-0134-A '82 1982 ROM IC Integrated Circuit OEM - New NOS
$11.99
Apple Computer AMI 342-0134-A '82 1982 ROM IC Integrated Circuit OEM - New NOS pictureVintage Apple Computer AMI 342-0133-A 82 1982 IC Integrated Circuit OEM New NOS
$11.99
Vintage Apple Computer AMI 342-0133-A 82 1982 IC Integrated Circuit OEM New NOS picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.