BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2008, 03:32 PM   #1
stevo28
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Fido
Posts: 7
Default Bold MSN problem

Please Login to Remove!

Hi guys,

just wondering if anyone knows how to deal with this:

I bought a Rogers BB Bold and I unlocked it to use on my fido plan. When I connected to wi-fi and tried to log on to MSN,it says service not enabled for this handheld.

I assume its because MSN is locked to Rogers or something? So is there a way I can unlock MSN?

Appreciate your help!

p.s. just bought bold a couple of days ago and im totally in love with it!!jumped from 7290 to bold and its such an amazing improvement!

Last edited by stevo28; 11-29-2008 at 10:18 PM..
Offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 07:39 PM   #2
stevo28
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Fido
Posts: 7
Default

nobody knows the answer?
Offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 08:45 PM   #3
Berry One
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Model: 8220
Carrier: WiFi hotspot
Posts: 1,009
Default

What does 'login MSN' mean?

If you tried using RIM's MSN IM application on blackberry device and if you do not have the right blackberry data plan that won't work.

Blackberry data plan is what you are paying for services like RIM's IM.

>it says service not enabled for this handheld.

One of rare cases when error message means exactly what it should.
Offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 08:49 PM   #4
ipos
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
ipos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: Bold
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 106
Default

alternatively , u can use ebuddy web messenger if u have a data plan
Offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 12:44 AM   #5
Matt21
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Model: 9000
PIN: 208620AF
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4
Default

anyone know how the live messenger works on data? Does data drain while u are signed in 24/7 or for each msg sent/received etc?
Offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 08:44 AM   #6
stranger
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
stranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: GTA
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.190
Carrier: rogers(thiefs)
Posts: 160
Default

well it does have to stay connected to see if a new msg comes in. its like waiting for a text, your phone will eventually die on standby although it will takes days. being on msn will waste data but a very minimal amount
__________________
Finally Bold.
Follow me: http://twitter.com/davidpaulw
Offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 08:59 AM   #7
Mark PPG
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0.0.451
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 202
Default

Its probably a service book issue. I remember that these programs used to be only available on some providers.

Resend the service books, and see if it works.
Offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 10:51 AM   #8
Drewdatrip
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Drewdatrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.190
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 56
Default

It basically comes down to if fido supports msn or not.For example, MSN aim, icq etc have been out for some time from RIM, however it was just about 1 month ago that ATT in the states pushed the service books and allowed everyone with a bb to use them.
They were basically trying to get the most outta text to turn profit, but enough companies support it now, and with competition as stiff as it is now they finally went ahead
so check with ur provider
__________________
8700C
8300
8310
9000
Offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 12:13 AM   #9
stevo28
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Fido
Posts: 7
Default

thx guys.
i guess fido's not supporting MSN so there's prolly no way i can use it besides ebuddy.
Offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 12:31 AM   #10
SteveSter1
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 47
Default

How did you download MSN messenger, bb.com wont let me.
Offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 04:44 AM   #11
billy750
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: Bold
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 64
Default

it wont work for the TMO USA either... OMG..!!! what should i do....
Offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 09:14 PM   #12
billy750
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: Bold
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 64
Default

but it works on my sister's SideKick... so hmm... is it lock my T-Mobile and ATT or is it just not compatible??
Offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 11:42 PM   #13
cuto
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Model: 9900
OS: 7.0.0
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 10
Default

would MSN work via wifi though?
Offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 12:11 AM   #14
billy750
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: Bold
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 64
Default

i think it might be a service book problem.. if one of the device work on TMO USA with MSN.. i think TMO support it..!!! or is it the Roger Phone's problem??

Does anyone with other unlock Bold From Orange, ATT on TMO USA network got their msn working??
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Drexan AMIGA-1 DREX0079 High Profile Power / Tee / Splice Kit With Core Sealer
$149.95
Drexan AMIGA-1 DREX0079 High Profile Power / Tee / Splice Kit With Core Sealer pictureCOMMODORE AMIGA/MOS8520A-1  IC chip 
$20.0
COMMODORE AMIGA/MOS8520A-1  IC chip  pictureCommodore Amiga MOS 8520R2 Complex Interface Adapter 
$20.0
Commodore Amiga MOS 8520R2 Complex Interface Adapter  pictureSoftware guide book manual Amiga Programmer C Language A2000 A500 computer disk
$115.0
Software guide book manual Amiga Programmer C Language A2000 A500 computer disk pictureRADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC SCSI 16MB
$185.0
RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC SCSI 16MB picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.