BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2011, 08:22 PM   #1
braincandyxxx
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Model: 9930
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telesur
Posts: 7
Default blackberry bold 9900 wifi help

Please Login to Remove!

i just got my bold 9900 and i put my sim in and turned on and connected it to wifi but things like msn and bbm won't work but on my bold 2 they do work with the same sim and wifi network.
What's the problem??
Offline  
Old 09-15-2011, 08:25 PM   #2
tsac
BlackBerry Mensa
 
tsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Others run out when we run in
Model: Z10
OS: Cheerios
PIN: No Pin just a Tack
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 9,971
Default Re: blackberry bold 9900 wifi help

Do you have a Blackberry Data plan? The carrier may not have loaded the service books to support WIFI on the 9900
__________________
Z10 on BES
Z10 on BIS
Offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 07:48 AM   #3
arturpiecyk
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Model: 9900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 1
Default Re: blackberry bold 9900 wifi help

Hello,
Is it possible to use BlackBerry Bold 9900 with a home WiFi without having SIM with active Internet access (pending my activation with a new provider I just inserted my current pre-paid SIM which I don't have Internet on) ?

I see my BB connected on my home WiFi router (where I even disabled any encryption and it's open access point now) and I can see WiFi in green on BB but when I click browser I'm getting the error message that it can't connect to Internet. Do I have to have a SIM with Internet access activated by my new provider ? My objective is to access Internet via home WiFi and not my GSM provider since I've got Internet packaged limited to 1 GB.

regards,
Artur
Offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 09:38 AM   #4
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: blackberry bold 9900 wifi help

Did you read tsac's post?
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 11:26 AM   #5
rambo47
Latino Hasta La Muerte
 
rambo47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denville, NJ.
Model: 9370
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9,063
Default Re: blackberry bold 9900 wifi help

Quote:
Originally Posted by arturpiecyk View Post
Hello,
Is it possible to use BlackBerry Bold 9900 with a home WiFi without having SIM with active Internet access (pending my activation with a new provider I just inserted my current pre-paid SIM which I don't have Internet on) ?

I see my BB connected on my home WiFi router (where I even disabled any encryption and it's open access point now) and I can see WiFi in green on BB but when I click browser I'm getting the error message that it can't connect to Internet. Do I have to have a SIM with Internet access activated by my new provider ? My objective is to access Internet via home WiFi and not my GSM provider since I've got Internet packaged limited to 1 GB.

regards,
Artur
Nope. You need a legit BlackBerry data plan even to use WiFi. The data you use over WiFi won't count against your monthly data allotment, but you have to have the right plan just to get the service books onto your device to activate WiFi. The device will connect to a WiFi network without it but it won't pass any data.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: blackberry bold 9900 wifi help
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOWTO: Use BlackBerry on Generic NON-BlackBerry Data Plan Mark Rejhon BlackBerry Network 95 05-20-2018 07:58 AM
New Blackberry Server wants to reactivate users after power outage! Urlryn BES Admin Corner 19 12-27-2007 03:55 PM
New to BES admin , need help with messages. bigwig BES Admin Corner 5 10-17-2007 10:59 AM
BES 4.0 SP2 for Exchange now available jibi BES Admin Corner 49 08-17-2005 08:51 AM

GE Magnetic Ballast 120 Volts GEM140HRS120 60 Hz 412LSLHTCP Instant Start *NEW
$25.99
GE Magnetic Ballast 120 Volts GEM140HRS120 60 Hz 412LSLHTCP Instant Start *NEW picturePhillips Advance 71a8453-001d 400w HPS Sodium Ballast, NEW IN BOX
$23.5
Phillips Advance 71a8453-001d 400w HPS Sodium Ballast, NEW IN BOX pictureLot of 16 UNIVERSAL BALLASTS 446-L-LH-TC-P F40 compatible to RQM-2S40-3-TP sk #4
$99.95
Lot of 16 UNIVERSAL BALLASTS 446-L-LH-TC-P F40 compatible to RQM-2S40-3-TP sk #4 picturePhilips Advance Smartmate ICF-2S26-H1-LD Programmed Start CFL Ballast
$30.0
Philips Advance Smartmate ICF-2S26-H1-LD Programmed Start CFL Ballast picturePhilips Advance 71A5771-001D Core & Coil Ballast Kit 1-250W M58 Metal Halide
$25.8
Philips Advance 71A5771-001D Core & Coil Ballast Kit 1-250W M58 Metal Halide  picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.