BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2007, 12:14 PM   #1
rivviepop
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
rivviepop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: san francisco
Model: 8320
PIN: n/a
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 2,166
Default OS: BB 8320 4.2.2.184 (Chinese, Singapore Telecom)

Please Login to Remove!

Forward: found by running BB OS Checker:
http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...ource-php.html
=========

BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.2.2.338 (Chinese)
Package Version: 4.2.2.338
Consisting of:
  • Applications: 4.2.2.184
  • Software Platform: 2.5.0.40
  • File name: 8320CJK_PBr4.2.2_rel338_PL2.5.0.40_A4.2.2.184_Sing Tel.exe
  • File size: 96.01MB
Download:
https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...3314DF2B3CB9CE

To install this software on any 8320:

1. Download and install the latest Desktop Manager from here
2. Download and install the OS packaged linked above.
3. Delete the vendor.xml file located in c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader
4. Connect BB, open Desktop Manager and you should be prompted to upgrade.

For a multi-language (English, Spanish, Hebrew, etc.) version of this OS, see this thread:
http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...ilanguage.html

(Link to previous 4.2.2.180 OS Click Here.)
__________________
[ Linux & BlackBerry ] http://www.blackberryforums.com/linux-users-corner/

Last edited by JSanders; 02-09-2008 at 09:32 AM.. Reason: add link
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 12:15 PM   #2
rivviepop
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
rivviepop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: san francisco
Model: 8320
PIN: n/a
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 2,166
Default

Just to note, I have not loaded this (yet), just found. So who wants to be the Thanksgiving guinea pig?
__________________
[ Linux & BlackBerry ] http://www.blackberryforums.com/linux-users-corner/
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 12:17 PM   #3
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Ah, crap...another one to try. NJBlackberry??????????

J/k, Rivvie....Thanks! Not sure I'm going to do it today, though. Maybe later today.

Last edited by John Clark; 11-22-2007 at 12:18 PM..
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 12:39 PM   #4
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

Downloading now....
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 12:39 PM   #5
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Ok...it's calling out to me. What the heck....downloading now. Will post back later.
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 01:16 PM   #6
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Here goes nothin'--Installing now.
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 01:44 PM   #7
Yoryie
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Model: 9700
OS: v6.0.706
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 55
Default

Such a small difference between version numbers! Maybe it is not really necessary to upgrade....NOT!

Downloading now
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 02:10 PM   #8
xyrcncp
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Model: 8830
OS: 4.5.0.138
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 680
Default

NJB, JC any differences?
__________________
xyrcncp | BB8830 | BES
BlackBerry FAQs
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 02:16 PM   #9
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

So far, so good. UMA came right up...all went well. Will have to give it some time to see how the UMA connection works out. That's been my biggest gripe is that UMA switches to EDGE to quickly when signal weakens.
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 03:31 PM   #10
rivviepop
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
rivviepop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: san francisco
Model: 8320
PIN: n/a
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 2,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
So far, so good. UMA came right up...all went well. Will have to give it some time to see how the UMA connection works out. That's been my biggest gripe is that UMA switches to EDGE to quickly when signal weakens.
It's been like an hour, where's our current status report?
__________________
[ Linux & BlackBerry ] http://www.blackberryforums.com/linux-users-corner/
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 03:58 PM   #11
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

I'm happy with it. I haven't noticed much of anything different (in the hour or two on a holiday that I've used it ) UMA still switches to EDGE, seemingly, too soon but maybe it needs to do that to handoff the call to EDGE properly. However, it seems like it changes back to UMA quicker from EDGE. It seems like a fairly stable build. I'll report back if I notice anything but today isn't a day when I use my BB that hard.
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 05:50 PM   #12
bdraco
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 8320
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 17
Default

Seems to fix some DTMF over UMA problems
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 07:42 PM   #13
niteqwill
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
niteqwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.250
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 141
Default

Ok, now my Blackberry Messenger list is gone.

How do I recover all my contact now?
Offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 07:44 PM   #14
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Everything backed up and restored just fine for me....Did it restore your data at the end?
Offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 12:17 AM   #15
Blaziniflo
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gainesville, Fl
Model: 8320
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 69
Default

Does this support chinese language? Pretty obvious question, but the last one (.175) even though it supported Chinese language displayed it incorrectly.
Offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 12:21 AM   #16
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

The CJK in the file name i.e. 8320CJK indicates Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. An M in the file name i.e. 8320M indicates MultiLanugage and does not include Chinese.

Yes, this one includes Chinese.
Offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 12:24 AM   #17
Blaziniflo
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gainesville, Fl
Model: 8320
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 69
Default

You can actually type chinese and send chinese email with this os?
Offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 12:36 AM   #18
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Since I don't read, speak, or write Chinese I've never tried it. However, that's what I've been told. I've no first hand knowledge of this or how exactly it works.
Offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 12:37 AM   #19
rivviepop
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
rivviepop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: san francisco
Model: 8320
PIN: n/a
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 2,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaziniflo View Post
You can actually type chinese and send chinese email with this os?
While I haven't tried it yet, I would bet bank that a firmware from.... wait for it.... Singapore! would fully support Chinese. Seems like a reasonable conclusion for anyone to make.

EDIT: afterthought, one way it could not work is if the physical hardware for an 8320 sold in Singapore is different (maybe a different keypad? Nokia does this); has anyone ever seen the 8320 they sell? Maybe I can wade through their carrier website...
__________________
[ Linux & BlackBerry ] http://www.blackberryforums.com/linux-users-corner/

Last edited by rivviepop; 11-23-2007 at 12:42 AM..
Offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 01:30 AM   #20
Roo Zilla
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: iPhon
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaziniflo View Post
You can actually type chinese and send chinese email with this os?
It should work fine. I installed the CJK languages from the Hong Kong CSL OS onto my T-Mo phone and I can both read and write Chinese. There's 3-4 different input methods if I remember correctly. I'm used to Pinyin so I only installed that one.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Mano Amiga Con Bono De Lupa 60-40 Plomo Plomo Estano Soldador Nucleo
$25.99
Mano Amiga Con Bono De Lupa 60-40 Plomo Plomo Estano Soldador Nucleo picture10x New 64 Pin Machined DIP Socket for Motorola 68000 Apple, Amiga, Atari
$38.0
10x New 64 Pin Machined DIP Socket for Motorola 68000 Apple, Amiga, Atari picture5x New 64 Pin Machined DIP Socket for Motorola 68000 Apple, Amiga, Atari
$22.0
5x New 64 Pin Machined DIP Socket for Motorola 68000 Apple, Amiga, Atari picture5x New 64 Pin Machined DIP Socket for Motorola 68000 Apple, Amiga, Atari, In USA
$18.0
5x New 64 Pin Machined DIP Socket for Motorola 68000 Apple, Amiga, Atari, In USA pictureAMIGA HARD DISK CONTROLLER - AMIGA - HARD DISK CONTROLLER
$45.0
AMIGA HARD DISK CONTROLLER - AMIGA - HARD DISK CONTROLLER picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.