BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 01-02-2009, 05:39 PM   #1
Digicam
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 9530T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Question Email confusion of terms by new Blackberry user.

Please Login to Remove!

I am very new to the Blackberry system and have a Storm. Love it. I have the $29 unlimited Verizon plan, which gives me web and online email. Coming from a standard LG cell phone, this is all new.

My confusion is about what can I actually do with email within the package. I can go to the web, to my email site on Gmail and access it or to Yahoo etc. But I keep getting a message that there is no message service configured when I want to just send an email. As a resut, no email is "pushed" to me. Is info that is "pushed" outside the Unlimited package. There are instructions online as to how to setup email, but vague on details.

My question, is what is free here? If I follow the links to "add or create an email account" on BIS, am I adding another cost...outside the $29 plan or what? If I setup an email address on BIS, is this an added new charge? If email is pushed to my cellphone, is it no longer available to me through my Eudora PC based program? I said I was new...

As well, could you tell me if for instance I add an application for say weather bug, that pushes info to me, within the Unlimited Web package?

Sorry if this is in the wrong area, but I searched and this seemed to be the best choice.
Old 01-02-2009, 05:43 PM   #2
rachamphetamine
BBF Moderator

Model: --
PIN: E SOL
Carrier: VZW

Welcome to BBF!

Any email addresses you add to be pushed to your phone will be free. You can use the Email Setup (or name will be some variation of that) to add the addresses to your device so that you can both send and receive email. Your email should also continue to come to the Eudora program if you check a box during set-up that says something along the lines of leaving mail on the server.