BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 11-26-2005, 08:50 AM   #1
Nick123

Model: 7290
Default Accessing email via gsm/dial-up

Please Login to Remove!

Hi, I've just switched from a Pocket PC to a Blackberry 7290 so I'm a newbie to the RIM World. The thing is really growing on me, and I like the sort of "retro" look it has and its solid feel & performance. But I am having some problems when connecting from some countries; can someone please point me in the right direction to find some software so I can access/reply to a pop3 email (or even my BES) account when there's no GPRS around (only GSM)? This will of course require a regular dial-up connection. Yes, I know it'll be very slow, but I often find myself in countries where there is no GPRS or my provider doesn't have a roaming agreement with the local networks except for GSM (example: Kazakhstan). Pocket PC gives you the choice of using GPRS or GSM for data connection: the Blackberry is disappointingly useless without GPRS - with some GSM dial-up software installed at least I'll still be able to send/receive some emails even when there's no GPRS connection. Does such a piece of software exist?
Old 11-26-2005, 05:21 PM   #2
andrebsd
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 8703
Carrier: MetroPCS

No can do... The blackberry's wont dial any normal isp over GSM (CSD is the protocol and blackberry's don't do it)

This is also the reason why when tethering to a laptop for example; you have to dial using the blackberry's GPRS... Trying to dialup a normal isp won't work.

See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Circuit_Switched_Data for more information on CSD; though that page doesn't have anything concerning Blackberry's, so it's just general info if your curious.
Old 11-27-2005, 03:49 AM   #3
Nick123