Closed Thread

Old 10-16-2007, 01:39 PM   #1
Mark Rejhon
Retired BBF Moderator

Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Default Best Chat Software: JiveTalk 1.0.2 versus IM+ 5.0.9 -- NO CONTEST

Please Login to Remove!

I am amazed at how good JiveTalk is, so this comparision may compel both IM vendors to improve both products even more. After just 30 minutes, it was obvious that JiveTalk was better and I will probably do a paid registration before its 30 day trial is up.

I am also a computer programmer, and have been programming since 1986, as well as I have lots of beta testing and QA/QC knowledge, and therefore, my comments tend to carry fairly heavy weight among people who rely on me for software quality.

I realize IM+ 5.0.9 is a beta, but let's recognize that JiveTalk is still at only Version 1.0.2. I would like to argue that Version 1 products should be much more buggy than Version 5 products, so I will consider both a fair apples-to-apples "beta-to-beta" comparision. Mind you, JiveTalk hasn't been around for very long and they did have the advantage of looking at competition and starting with an amazing clean bug-free codebase, while it seems like IM+ is still trying to mop up Version 5 bugs from what is now probably a legacy codebase. (That's a frequent cause of bugs).

So now here goes...

JiveTalk strengths over IM+
  • Starts up directly to buddy list. I like this, it embeds the IM network list and the buddies list as separate 'categories' so I don't have to switch between screens like I have to on IM+. When I go back to the BlackBerry main menu, I like how it instantly shows my buddy list again when I go back into it.