BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2005, 09:34 PM   #321
deo59
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Brockton, Massachusetts
Model: 9650
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 14
Default

Please Login to Remove!

For what it is worth, I tried to upgrade my 7250 to EV the second day it was "available" to business users. The device upgraded fine but after an hour of service I got DCR. After a week of dealing with wireless support on and off through Thanksgiving on the DCR issue they decided to send me a new device. The new device came loaded with the updated software and started right up after *22899 with EV service. I have not tried tethering yet but did add it to my account. The odd thing to note is after ##000000 the EVDO AN user name in my device is 0000007118 not my phone number. When I changed it to my phone number I got the dreaded DCR. I changed it back to 7118 and all has been well. I am in Boston.
Offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 02:51 PM   #322
Intrigue
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Warrington, PA, USA
Model: 8703e
Carrier: verizon wireless
Posts: 33
Default Success

Well, I called the line, tech had no idea what I was talking about; forwarded me up; lady INSISTS that the 7250 is not EVDO capable and never will be, but she will try to add it anyway; I tell her I know of it being done, and please forward me up again.

Third guy is like "You know about the DCR issues right?" and I said yes, he then told me he cant tell me the link to get 4.0.2, I told him I had it.

He looks, says that feature code is already on my account, and to go ahead and DL 4.0.2.

I'm in the midst of upgrading to 4.0.2 as I type this, so I'll update when it is complete.
__________________
PIN: 32B54D76
VZW BB 8703e
VZW BB 7250
VZW Treo 700p
Offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:31 AM   #323
BA - Blackberry Atlanta
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8830
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 5
Default

I am new to the forum, but have been a Rim 957, Blackberry 7290 or 7250 user for about 5 years. I upgraded to a 7290 about 6 months ago, but had to terminate the Cingular service due to lack of building penetration in downtown Atlanta. In my job I send/receive anywhere from 250 - 500 emails per day via blackberry. The Cingular 7290 would loose signal and generate about 75 resends per day and an occassional Data Connection Refused. I.E. Red X instead of the checkmark.

Since switching to the Verizon 1xRTT I haven't had a single Red X until I added the BroadbandAccess Connect to the account. Now I receive the Red X and Data Connection Refused frequently. It seems to occur most often when in an area where the signal drops in and out from 1XEVDO to 1XRTT to no signal. Eventual this results in DCR. I have been on the phone with Verizon support for about 8 hours total over about 10 calls. They really don't seem to know what causes the DCR. They have checked my account and contend there are no porvisioning errors. I have tried all user names as: <cell nubmer>@vzw3g.com on the ##000000 screen and this has not fixed the problem. I have changed the EVDO user name to the ones others have found success with in this thread to no avail.

Has anyone seen any other User IDs that have worked in the Atlanta area?
Offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:39 AM   #324
BA - Blackberry Atlanta
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8830
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 5
Default Data Connection Refused

This was a dupe. Guess this is part of being new to the thread.
Offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:55 AM   #325
sbagdan
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Model: 7290 on T-Mobile
Posts: 77
Default

Same issue in LA with DCR.... When I go from 1XEV to 1X (sometimes not everytime) I get the DCR. vzw support is clueless, except to say that the new software has some bugs and they are working on fixes....
__________________
Crackberry User and Addict.
7250 on Verizon w/EVDO and 4.0.2 Update (Active)
7290 on T-Mobile (Retired)
T-Mobile 7230 (Retired)
Offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 10:56 AM   #326
Airpoppoff
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Airpoppoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yakima, WA
Model: 9000
OS: Veestah
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 84
Default

__________________
- Matt

Last edited by Airpoppoff; 12-20-2005 at 02:47 PM..
Offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 01:01 PM   #327
Msu_brian
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 7250
Posts: 3
Default

I did the conversion on a 7250 and it worked great. I did the instructions per the post to setup a dial up through blackberry. I didn't have to call tech to turn on tethering either. I am on a pay per kilobyte so I am using it little by little and will see how much I actually need it. They said $45/month unlimited and $30/month to teather if you are on a 39.95 or less voice plain and $15 if on a higher. I guess why tell them you are teathering. It works for me with out letting them charge me. ALso I get the 1xev when in an area that verizon has evdo. I went to somewhere where verizon isn't common and I get 1x no EV. But I failed to test the laptop without the ev.
Offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 03:24 PM   #328
tomryan
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 152
Default Updated download page..

http://vzw.smithmicro.com/blackberry/vzw402/

now states as point number 1:

"* BlackBerry Handheld Software 4.0.2 is only available and supported for Business and Government customers."

not really sure what that means.. my interpretation is

"It's not 100% reliable for any user or for 7130e customers. Since we have only so many staff, we're only supporting 7130e users and 7250 business and government customers"..



Seriously, I think Verizon has accepted that non business/government account users are using EVDO on the 7250s and decided it was best to say "it wasn't supported"..

this jives with what someone recently posted about the tech adding the feature but not telling them where to get the software..

It would appear that most people are automatically having the feature added and as others have guessed, I imagine that a 4.1 rollout will make more sense hopefully in 1Q 2006.
Offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 12:11 AM   #329
mobile316
New Member
 
mobile316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 8703e
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 14
Default

Ok, I have done everything that was on the list. Problem:

1 -I am an agent employee account and have no way of talking to a human to verify the feature was added properly until in the morning.

2 -I have a DCR message and my Roaming Triangle is on. When I originally *22899 after all the updates, 1XEV popped up during the provisioning and then went away????

plz help.
Offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 12:13 AM   #330
Airpoppoff
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Airpoppoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yakima, WA
Model: 9000
OS: Veestah
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 84
Default

__________________
- Matt

Last edited by Airpoppoff; 12-20-2005 at 02:47 PM..
Offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 12:15 AM   #331
mobile316
New Member
 
mobile316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 8703e
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 14
Default

This is what pisses me off about these agent plans. They guard them like they are gold and it takes an act of congress to even get a feature added. Would you be able to see it tomorrow.
Offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:32 AM   #332
Airpoppoff
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Airpoppoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yakima, WA
Model: 9000
OS: Veestah
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 84
Default

__________________
- Matt

Last edited by Airpoppoff; 12-20-2005 at 02:46 PM..
Offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 10:53 AM   #333
dingle_berry
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 7250
Posts: 4
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by KonTiki
I am a consumer and have had it working since midnight last night just do this exactly as you see it:

Ok, got it done. Here's the how-to. Call 866-788-9387 Select Option 2 Option 2 Option 2

Tell them you want to add BroadbandAccess Connect. The feature code is 71764 no additional charge. Basically 71764 replaces the standard BB Unlimited code from what I understood.

Load the 4.0.2 software. When the phone comes up, it will say DATA CONNECTION REFUSED. The EVDO won't take effect until you do a *22899 which tells the phone to download the new feature code. Once connected, do a Register Now to make the phone download the new Preferred Roaming List which will tell the phone to roam into EVDO first and 1xRTT second.
Your the man. The first rep said no you have everything you need then I told the Tech Support Rep the feature number you listed. Boom. I'm cooking with greezed light'en
Offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 12:44 PM   #334
Intrigue
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Warrington, PA, USA
Model: 8703e
Carrier: verizon wireless
Posts: 33
Default Worked

Well, everything worked beautifully; Haven't had any DCR and it's been a few days.

In 1XEV 90% of the time; but I notice im in 1X sometimes also (it will be for 10-15 seconds; then switch back to 1XEV).

I followed the directions TO THE LETTER; and have had absolutely no problems.

I'm loving the new OS as well; lots of "cleaned up" features; the new calculator is awesome; and there are a few little new features here and there.

All in all, I'd say it's worth the upgrade.

Thanks guys!!
__________________
PIN: 32B54D76
VZW BB 8703e
VZW BB 7250
VZW Treo 700p
Offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 04:11 PM   #335
BA - Blackberry Atlanta
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8830
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 5
Default

Matt,

I'm BA - Blackberry Atlanta. Have you heard anything on the EVDO in the atlanta area? Seems like the coverage is excellent, but I can't get beyond the DCR problems. The latest I was told is that its a known bug in the firmware and it will take a firmware update to fix. Any ideas?

Last edited by Mark Rejhon; 12-20-2005 at 03:28 PM.. Reason: verizon quote removed upon request
Offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 04:25 PM   #336
sidsub
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 8820
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Msu_brian
They said $45/month unlimited and $30/month to teather if you are on a 39.95 or less voice plain and $15 if on a higher. I guess why tell them you are teathering. It works for me with out letting them charge me.
I asked about this earlier and someone suggested that you will get charged for tethering at some ungodly rate. Does anyone know for sure? Can VZW even tell if you're tethering? I've only briefly tried tethering to prove that it works, but I may use it a little more if I know I'm not going to be charged for it -- it's not worth an extra $15 per month for me, but if I'm paying as much as I am for Blackberry data, I figured I could use a little more through the laptop.
Offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:04 PM   #337
bryanhilton
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BA - Blackberry Atlanta
Matt,

I'm BA - Blackberry Atlanta. Have you heard anything on the EVDO in the atlanta area? Seems like the coverage is excellent, but I can't get beyond the DCR problems. The latest I was told is that its a known bug in the firmware and it will take a firmware update to fix. Any ideas?
Provisioning issue, that happened to me. Matt did a great job on getting me up and running. Thanks Matt!
Offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 10:28 AM   #338
Airpoppoff
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Airpoppoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yakima, WA
Model: 9000
OS: Veestah
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 84
Default

__________________
- Matt

Last edited by Airpoppoff; 12-20-2005 at 02:45 PM..
Offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 11:22 AM   #339
sgm-co
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
sgm-co's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: colorado
Model: Tour
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 156
Default

I'm in Denver and seems if I go to a Verizon black hole, my phone loses data connection and I need to remove and reinstall the battery for data coverage to come back up.
__________________
Gotta Love the BB
Offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 09:49 PM   #340
pastorwayne
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 7250
Posts: 5
Unhappy Charging issue

Hi everybody,

I'm new here, but thought I would share what I learned today...

The recent Verizon update has worked well for me, save one thing: My 7250 now takes WAY longer to charge, as has been mentioned by others. I finally decided to go into my local Verizon store and complain/ask if they knew of a fix. Anyway, the first guy I talked to was clueless, but a tech overheard what i was talking about and claimed that the fact that the battery charges more slowly with the update was deliberate on Verizon's part, because the previous fast charge time was frying batteries on a wide scale and Verizon was getting sick of replacing them. So it looks like somehow they modified the charging voltage (and thus the charging time) to keep from having the lith/ion battery's circuit board frying as frequently. We may be stuck on this, unless someone knows if this is true or not, or if we can modify this without voiding any warranties/etc.

Thought I would pass this along.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Anderson 2" diaphragm pressure transducer , 0-60 psi , out of box
$45.0
Anderson 2Mahr digital transducer 2033092 unused
$120.0
Mahr digital transducer 2033092 unused picturetransducer techniques mlp-500/500lbs
$50.0
transducer techniques mlp-500/500lbs pictureHydac Pressure Transducer - HDA-847K-G-7500-004
$54.0
Hydac Pressure Transducer - HDA-847K-G-7500-004 pictureI/P Transducer, Control Air Inc Type 590-ACP, 4-20mA, 3-15psi, 20-22 psi
$400.0
I/P Transducer, Control Air Inc Type 590-ACP, 4-20mA, 3-15psi, 20-22 psi picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.