BBLoverGurl
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: NA
Default 9700 OS - Help Choose Please. 979 or 1014

Please Login to Remove!

Hi.

I am a newbie to BB comparitively and new to this forum as well. Thanks in advance for all the help and support and efforts.

Bold 9700 - Currently on the DOCOMO Firmware 5.0.0.1014. Have a few questions though. Please Help

1) Why is this OS considered official if its present on a Carrier's website but not on the official BlackBerry website where they have all continents' carriers listed?

2) I had used .979 also and upgraded to .1014. But I have experienced issues with it - data leak and it is running my bill high and hence bothering me.

3) I learned from the official website that when the letter "J" is present at the beginning of the firmware name (e.g. 9700jEastAsia.. etc) it takes up an additional of approx. 5 MB space irrespective of whether you choose Japanese input or not. So is there a non "J" version of 5.0.0.1014?

4) Lastly can anyone advise me between .979 and .1014? I did not have any noticeable issues on .979. But since I moved to .1014 I've had data leaks. I only use my 9700 for e-mail and only add-on / third party apps are one THEME From app world and Google Talk & Yahoo Messenger. That's it. So for my use, does .1014 have a significant benefit, else I might just go back to .979

also.. since officially OS 6 has been released for Bold 9700; does that mean they will or have stopped releasing updates for OS 5? Will there be no official release for OS 5 after this DOCOMO 5.0.0.1014?

Thank you
God Bless
BB Lover Girl
Old 01-15-2011, 11:45 PM   #2
somerandomguy
CrackBerry Addict

Model: 9900
Carrier: tmo
Default Re: 9700 OS - Help Choose Please. 979 or 1014

1) Why is this OS considered official if its present on a Carrier's website but not on the official BlackBerry website where they have all continents' carriers listed?