BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 10-04-2008, 11:46 AM   #1
auart

Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Alltel
Default Alltel 8330 Battery drain due to Alltel CDMA ?

Please Login to Remove!

I have the usual seriously fast draining battery problem and have tried every single step to delete most apps, even bought the seidio battery.
All have the same results, the battery will only last 8-9 hours.
I have read about 1,000 posts on this and other forums and done everything possible.
The only thing I can see is that I could upgrade to 4.5 OS, although Alltel hasn't released their version of the upgrade... Don't know if this will help???

IF you have Alltel please tell me if my observation is coorect. Maybe this is due to Alltel's poor reception in some areas. I am no expert on this, but would like someone to give an opinion if you have an idea of maybe the problem being this BB is constantly looking for a better signal.
What I see most of the time in the top right is....
1XEV with a couple bars,.... then sometimes it shows just 1X.....
What does this mean. I think it means that the 1X is much weaker and maybe draining the battery more. We are in an area that my OLD Moto Razor phone would show digital service most of the time and analog further outside town.

HELP!
I just want to be able to help the battery last longer. My brother has the Curve for TMOBILE and his batt last for 3 days. I am looking to get my wife a curve but if I cant get a handle on this, we will switch hers to Tmobile possibly.
Old 10-04-2008, 11:49 AM   #2
penguin3107
BlackBerry God

Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW

A poor coverage area will destroy your battery life, since your device will constantly be searching for a signal when there is none.

Might be time to switch carriers.
Coverage should always be the most important factor when choosing a mobile provider.
Old 10-04-2008, 12:06 PM   #3
hominid7

Model: 8XXX
Carrier: Sprint AT&T