Closed Thread

Old 12-15-2010, 05:13 PM   #1
luc-mobile
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 8900
Carrier: Claro
Default Media card encryption problem

Please Login to Remove!

I've been using the option of media card encryption for a few months. I like to know that my pictures are protected in case my BlackBerry gets lost or stolen. However, I've been too close to losing my content, more than once. Every now and then, my BlackBerry just won't recognize the encrypted files anymore. It fails to decrypt them for some reason I cannot determine. The last time it happened, it seemed to be connected with removing the media card, but I am not sure. Here is how it happened:

I got a new media card, bigger capacity. So I removed it from the BlackBerry, put it in a USB adapter and copied everything over to my PC.

Note that I use Linux, so my PC cannot read the encrypted files. I just copy everything over to keep the copy, and most of the files are not encrypted anyway. I am not going to waste my time cherry-picking the unencrypted ones, I just copy everything over. The encrypted ones I backup by sending them to myself over email. They reach my mailbox on my PC unencryted. Backing up files over email is slow and annoying, but hey, it's a BlackBerry, which is far from perfect... The encrypted ones are not many anyway, just pictures and occasional voice notes.

Fine. Then I put the new card in the USB adapter and copied everything over from the PC to the new media card. However, the new card is twice as large, I still didn't know for sure what I was going to add, so I didn't put the new card in the BlackBerry yet. I was in a hurry to go out, so I just put in the old card and went out.