BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 11-10-2007, 03:13 PM   #1
SpencerSteel
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8800
Carrier: o2
Unhappy another broken trackball ... any shortcuts?

Please Login to Remove!

I'm an IT manager for a small company and have about 20 devices I'm in charge of ... I am getting really disheartened about the amount of hardware faults coming back. Mainly with the trackball, although I've seen a few other odd things going on, which I won't bore you with here.

Anyway ... tonight my trackball refused to go 'down' ... I really look after my device, in an expensive flip case I bought separately so it's always protected.

Yes, I'm a very heavy user and I have concerns about these trackballs - I'm getting about 8 months use of on them. I've seen about 5 devices come back - not are hitting a year.

Aaaaaaaaaaaanway, until I go through the hassle of sending it to RIM, is there any left, right, up, down shortcuts on the keyboard to get me over the weekend? I think I can just about cope without the down for now ... as I can access the all important email/sms icons using left/right after using the Blackberry menu to access the 'Applications' ... 'return' seems to get me 'down' when in an email.

But, I just would have thought it would have made a lot of sense to have an ALT+(some keys) to move the cursor around, in case of trackball failure. Surely someone at RIM would have thought of this?

Sorry for the ramble, you know how it is without your Crackberry! Scary.

S.S.
Old 11-10-2007, 03:17 PM   #2
jeremyckitching
BlackBerry B Boy

Model: 9700
PIN: 215BE1F8
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.A.

I believe in the browser the space bar will allow you to go down. I am not sure of any other shortcuts for going down on the home screen though. You could disable the Dial from Home Screen feature and then use the shortcuts to open the different applications; i.e. C for composing a message, L for calendar, etc.