BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2009, 08:33 AM   #1
donsarlo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
donsarlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Barrie, Canada
Model: 9700
OS: 10.1....
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 46
Angry "Browser too old" error message

Please Login to Remove!

I'm running a 8830 World Phone, on Bell Mobility (Canada). Handheld software is v4.5.0 (v4.5.0.127, platform 3.4.0.20).

Recently, every time I try to load pages on the internet browser, I get a pop up screen telling me that "The browser you are using is too old. Please upgrade to the latest version of your browser." (screenshot attached)

As best as I can tell, I am running the latest official Bell released version for my device.

Oddly, after I ok in the pop up, the page loads fine.

Is anyone else having this problem?

Are there any recommended solutions?

Thanks!

Last edited by donsarlo; 04-06-2010 at 10:20 AM..
Offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 09:03 AM   #2
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

Wirelessly posted (8820)

Are you really getting that on every page?

I see it every once in a while and just ignore it. I assume it is the web page, not me.

If you are seeing it all the time on multiple sites, check your browser option and make sure your emulation setting is blackberry. Look at other settings in browser options, and for the time being, enable everything and see if it makes a difference.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 06:00 AM   #3
donsarlo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
donsarlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Barrie, Canada
Model: 9700
OS: 10.1....
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 46
Default Emulation

Thanks for the input Ira. That seems to have fixed it.
Offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 07:59 AM   #4
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

Wirelessly posted (8820)

What was it, exactly? Was it the emulation setting?
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 12-12-2009, 04:12 PM   #5
timothyausten
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8320
OS: v4.5.0.81
PIN: N/A
Carrier: dna (finland)
Posts: 8
Default

i'm getting that too on one page. www .telegraph .co .uk/ news/ newstopics/ howaboutthat/ ufo/ 6781106/ Russian-missile-failure-sparks-UFO-frenzy-in-Norway.html.

for some reason, my emulation setting was on "iexplore." i don't remember why i had it that way. however, changing it back to "blackberry" did not fix the problem. on a similar topic, when i use the "mobile" filter on google, i get a lot of results that are not so mobile friendly (slow to load).
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

JOHNSON CONTROLS METASYS MS-IOB4710-0 MODULE
$75.0
JOHNSON CONTROLS METASYS MS-IOB4710-0 MODULE picture Johnson Controls DX-9100-8454 Metasys Controller NEW IN BOX
$1500.0
 Johnson Controls DX-9100-8454 Metasys Controller NEW IN BOX pictureJOHNSON CONTROLS DX-9100-8454 METASYS PROGRAMMABLE CONTROLLER MODULE
$100.0
JOHNSON CONTROLS DX-9100-8454 METASYS PROGRAMMABLE CONTROLLER MODULE pictureJohnson Controls Metasys MS-FEC1610-0 / MS-FEB1610-0 10 POINT CONTROLLER
$38.0
Johnson Controls Metasys MS-FEC1610-0 / MS-FEB1610-0 10 POINT CONTROLLER pictureJohnson Controls Metasys MS-NCE2566-0 30 day warranty
$299.94
Johnson Controls Metasys MS-NCE2566-0  30 day warranty picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.