BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 03-26-2009, 10:00 PM   #1
Harry Azol
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: yes
PIN: N/A
Carrier: yes
Default BES Migration advice needed (Knife edge + more, or alternate method?)

Please Login to Remove!

Ok, just to start off - I am a BES admin and looking for some advice on a BES migration that I need to perform in the next few months (to be tested in test environment first of course).

I have reviewed the knife edge migration procedure, but I'm just wondering if there might be a better alternate method (the server name will change, so I understand that may require an extra step)

The current environment (working with no issues)
  • single temporary BES 4.1.6 with MSDE
  • single temporary Exchange 2007 server
  • both servers above (and the besadmin account) are in 'child.domain.com' AD domain
  • all user accounts and mailboxes are in 'domain.com' AD domain

Target environment:
  • two BES 4.1.6 (2 SRPs) with a single configuration DB on a SQL cluster
  • fully clustered/NLB'd Exchange 2007 environment
  • all servers above in 'domain.com' AD domain, including besadmin service account

What I was thinking:
  • Move config DB from MSDE to SQL cluster
  • move BESAdmin service account to 'domain.com' AD domain (is this required? the current server will be decomissioned)
  • Perform all Exchange changes/migrations
  • Setup new BES (2nd SRP) pointing to DB moved above
  • Move all users across to 2nd BES
  • Decommission original BES and build second permanent BES in it's place

Has anyone performed anything similar to this before?
Is there a better way?
Anything I should watch out for?
Old 03-27-2009, 08:44 AM   #2
knottyrope
BlackBerry Elite

Model: DT60
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors

How many users are we talking about on the BES right now?
It doesn't even matter

Rocking the Motion with out lotion.
Old 03-28-2009, 12:24 AM   #3
Harry Azol