BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2008, 07:31 PM   #1
doug_jnr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 6
Default 4.1.4 -> 4.1.5 Upgrade

Please Login to Remove!

Hi All,

I am looking to upgrade our BES from 4.1.4 to 4.1.5 and I have a few questions. We are only a small organisation with about 70 users running off exchange.

Will the SQL database be altered in any way when the upgrade is done?

Once the database has been running off 4.1.5, is there any reason why it will not run off 4.1.4 if I have to roll back for some unforeseen reason?

Is there any doco from RIM for this specific upgrade?

Any gotcha's or anything major i should be aware of?

I am sure to have more questions in the future, but this is a good start.

thanks in advance guys...
Offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 08:51 PM   #2
noname
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
noname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Congested Islet of "Foreign Talents" (> 45% of workforce) - Singapore.
Model: Z10
OS: 10.0.0
PIN: NUKE(PAP)
Carrier: Singtel
Posts: 1,504
Default

4.1.4 -> 4.1.5 is a major SP upgrade and *usually* it will modify the database schema. ALWAYS backup your BESMgmt BEFORE any upgrade, then if anything goes wrong, you can just restore the previous backup and roll back previous software.
__________________
Native but 4th class citizen of a nation governed by idiots who import congestions & contention.
Offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 09:49 PM   #3
doug_jnr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 6
Default

So i have copied our production SQL database to a test SQL server.

I have pointed a test 4.1.5 VM to the test database.

If I start the test 4.1.5 VM pointing to the test database, which is populated with our 70 production users as it is a copy of production, could there be any impact to the production users and/or users mailboxes?

I have set the test BES to point to router 127.0.01 so the test server is unable to connect to anything upstream.

Hope this makes sense.
Offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 10:28 PM   #4
hdawg
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doug_jnr View Post
So i have copied our production SQL database to a test SQL server.

I have pointed a test 4.1.5 VM to the test database.

If I start the test 4.1.5 VM pointing to the test database, which is populated with our 70 production users as it is a copy of production, could there be any impact to the production users and/or users mailboxes?

I have set the test BES to point to router 127.0.01 so the test server is unable to connect to anything upstream.

Hope this makes sense.
I can't see how you'll be able to test anything ... you can't connect to the BES infrastructure.

Follow this for installing the SP: KB04882 - Best practices for installing a BlackBerry Enterprise Server service pack

Take a backup and make sure you have the 4.1 SP4 installation files in case you have to roll back. Testing something like this against your production environment with a database you copy really wouldn't be the best practice. You're better off with a temp SRP connected to a temp database with some test users.
Offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 12:42 AM   #5
doug_jnr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 6
Default

yes...fair call.

let me attack this from another angle.

Assuming I already have a 4.1 SP5 BES up and running (with its own SRP etc) and want to migrate my existing users from 4.1 SP4, is it just a matter of stopping the SP4 box, pointing the SP5 box at the SQL database and bringing up the SP5 box?

I am also trying to decommission my old physical SP4 box and commission the new SP5, running on VM, in the process.

Sorry for the newb questions!
Offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 02:45 AM   #6
doug_jnr
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Posts: 6
Default

OK...this is my plan.

1). Ensure BB database is backed up.

2). Peform full system backup using Windows Backup. This enables us to revert back to 4.1 SP4 if needed.

3). Upgrade current production BES to 4.1.5 using the following guide. In place upgrade is straight forward and supported by RIM.
Best practices for installing a BlackBerry Enterprise Server service pack

4).We will then have production BES running 4.1.5.

5).As per RIM KB KB05193 , run the following SQL Query on database: "update ServerConfig set MachineName ='<New_Server_Name>' where Id = 1" so that the NETBIOS name of the new server is reflected.

6).We will then have production BES running 4.1.5 with updated database using new name for BES VM.

7).Perform the 'Knife Edge Cutover', ensuring the old BES name is used to prevent all users from having to re-activate.

When I bring up the new server pointing to the database, will all the users automatically be there and up and running?
Offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 08:05 AM   #7
hdawg
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Default

Quote:
yes...fair call.

let me attack this from another angle.

Assuming I already have a 4.1 SP5 BES up and running (with its own SRP etc) and want to migrate my existing users from 4.1 SP4, is it just a matter of stopping the SP4 box, pointing the SP5 box at the SQL database and bringing up the SP5 box?
No.
Offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 08:07 AM   #8
hdawg
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doug_jnr View Post
OK...this is my plan.

1). Ensure BB database is backed up.

2). Peform full system backup using Windows Backup. This enables us to revert back to 4.1 SP4 if needed.

3). Upgrade current production BES to 4.1.5 using the following guide. In place upgrade is straight forward and supported by RIM.
Best practices for installing a BlackBerry Enterprise Server service pack

4).We will then have production BES running 4.1.5.

5).As per RIM KB KB05193 , run the following SQL Query on database: "update ServerConfig set MachineName ='<New_Server_Name>' where Id = 1" so that the NETBIOS name of the new server is reflected.

6).We will then have production BES running 4.1.5 with updated database using new name for BES VM.

7).Perform the 'Knife Edge Cutover', ensuring the old BES name is used to prevent all users from having to re-activate.

When I bring up the new server pointing to the database, will all the users automatically be there and up and running?
Yup; just make sure you're using the same SRP / etc ...
Offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 01:34 PM   #9
shuman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: LI, NY
Model: 8320
OS: 4.5
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 96
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by doug_jnr View Post
OK...this is my plan.

1). Ensure BB database is backed up.

2). Peform full system backup using Windows Backup. This enables us to revert back to 4.1 SP4 if needed.

3). Upgrade current production BES to 4.1.5 using the following guide. In place upgrade is straight forward and supported by RIM.
Best practices for installing a BlackBerry Enterprise Server service pack

4).We will then have production BES running 4.1.5.

5).As per RIM KB KB05193 , run the following SQL Query on database: "update ServerConfig set MachineName ='<New_Server_Name>' where Id = 1" so that the NETBIOS name of the new server is reflected.

6).We will then have production BES running 4.1.5 with updated database using new name for BES VM.

7).Perform the 'Knife Edge Cutover', ensuring the old BES name is used to prevent all users from having to re-activate.

When I bring up the new server pointing to the database, will all the users automatically be there and up and running?

This is the correct way of doing it.
__________________
BES 4.1.5
Exchange 2003 SP1
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

New 64 Pin Machined DIP Socket for Motorola 68000 Apple, Amiga, Atari
$6.5
New 64 Pin Machined DIP Socket for Motorola 68000 Apple, Amiga, Atari pictureNew 100x 76mm x 56mm grip seal zip lock Premium Polythene Clear Bags #231
$8.99
New 100x 76mm x 56mm grip seal zip lock Premium Polythene Clear Bags #231 pictureAMIGA HARD DISK CONTROLLER - AMIGA - HARD DISK CONTROLLER
$45.0
AMIGA HARD DISK CONTROLLER - AMIGA - HARD DISK CONTROLLER picture1x Genuine Z8400APS ZILOG Z80A CPU 4Mhz 8-Bit Amiga IC
$4.99
1x Genuine Z8400APS ZILOG Z80A CPU 4Mhz 8-Bit Amiga IC pictureSiemens Hearing Aid Amiga 176 PP-AO
$125.0
Siemens Hearing Aid Amiga 176 PP-AO picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.