Closed Thread

Old 04-16-2006, 03:37 PM   #1
leeloff
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8820
Carrier: AT&T
Default Notify Users wireless is turned off

Please Login to Remove!

I searched around and couldnt find anything. I am a BES admin and I get a lot of calls from support on various issues. Often enough they pull the battery and therefore turn the wireless off. Is there any way to notify users via a pop up or PIN message with a notification telling them to turn it on. IE, run an automated agent to look at people who have wireless turned off and send a PIN message with "Please turn your wireless back on to receive data"

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Lee
Old 04-16-2006, 03:52 PM   #2
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator

Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon

Uh, they won't receive the PIN message if wireless is turned off.
What good would this do?
Old 04-16-2006, 06:03 PM   #3
bbgurl171

Model: 8700

Yep, can't help you there. If the wireless is off there isn't any way you can contact the device. You may have better luck looking into some of the bb monitoring applications mentioned in this forum. They probably could do something that would help i.e. warn the users BEFORE the wireless turns off.
Old 04-16-2006, 06:37 PM   #4
BlackBerryLinks
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 8800
Carrier: Vodafone

It help when you give your users some basic instrucions. An other solution may a program on the BlackBerry notify the user, but I don't know such program.

Regards,
Bob
Old 04-16-2006, 08:38 PM   #5
leeloff

Model: 8820

yeah that was dumb of me. I know you dont get messages when the wireless is off. I dont know what i was thinking. The issue with training is that most of our BB users are executives and they dont have the time for training. They just want it to work.

So back to my wireless issue. How about a custom app that pops up when wireless is off. I have no idea how to do custom coding for BB, but I would be willing to learn. Any creative ideas?
Old 04-16-2006, 08:59 PM   #6