BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2011, 08:52 PM   #1
PhilPense
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: sprint
Posts: 12
Default Using the 8330 without carrier contract

Please Login to Remove!

Would like to use this sprint blackberry 8330 for everything except making/receiving calls. Seeking guidance on several things but of most importance is:

- I have a USB connection to a laptop with internet access. I see no internet browser on the 8330. I have used the blackberry desktop app to update the existing software but do not see a default browser. Should there be one? If not would the addition of a browser with a tether to a machine with internet access get me on the internet?

- Without the USB tether would it be possible to communicate via bluetooth then on to the internet. I have already paired the two but do not know how to proceed.

Seeking an informed opinion for these and future questions. Much thanks in advance as I await a reply.
Offline  
Old 02-18-2011, 09:40 PM   #2
Motorcycle Mama
BlackBerry Master
 
Motorcycle Mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1.0.163
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 4,351
Default Re: Using the 8330 without carrier contract

Is this a different question from the one you asked yesterday?

http://www.blackberryforums.com/blac...er-issues.html
Offline  
Old 02-19-2011, 07:45 PM   #3
PhilPense
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: sprint
Posts: 12
Default Re: Using the 8330 without carrier contract

Essentially the same... Searched my posts and none appeared so I did a second. Regrettably today's search turned up nothing. If you replied I cannot see the post. Please advise or perhaps a cc to: [email address]

I appreciate your reply.

Phil Pense
Offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 10:08 PM   #4
samnyemba
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mozambique
Model: 9300
OS: 6.0.0.546
PIN: 27c3f559
Carrier: vodacom
Posts: 172
Default Re: Using the 8330 without carrier contract

Try searching in the FAQ section for bluetooth tethering. I'm not sure whether that's what you r looking for.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 10:08 PM   #5
samnyemba
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mozambique
Model: 9300
OS: 6.0.0.546
PIN: 27c3f559
Carrier: vodacom
Posts: 172
Default

Try searching in the FAQ section for bluetooth tethering. I'm not sure whether that's what you r looking for.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 10:15 PM   #6
kylemorganftw
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2-UK Unlocked
Posts: 11
Default Re: Using the 8330 without carrier contract

Don't know if I'm right on this but in the UK, you won't get a browser unless your registered to the bb wireless network.. With the BIS subscription..

Need to do my research on other networks out of the UK..
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 10:19 PM   #7
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: Using the 8330 without carrier contract

Quote:
Originally Posted by samnyemba View Post
Try searching in the FAQ section for bluetooth tethering. I'm not sure whether that's what you r looking for.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
You do know that this was from February?
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 10:19 PM   #8
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: Using the 8330 without carrier contract

Quote:
Originally Posted by kylemorganftw View Post
Don't know if I'm right on this but in the UK, you won't get a browser unless your registered to the bb wireless network.. With the BIS subscription..

Need to do my research on other networks out of the UK..
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

You do know that this was from February?
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 11:24 PM   #9
kylemorganftw
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2-UK Unlocked
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubdub View Post
You do know that this was from February?
To be Honest with you I had no idea, I just seen the post in the New posts page...
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

Last edited by kylemorganftw; 04-18-2011 at 11:25 PM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: Using the 8330 without carrier contract
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DTM 6 crashes when I plug 8330 into USB CPatafio BlackBerry Help 0 01-10-2011 02:18 AM
8350i vs. 8330 rambo47 General 8300 Series Discussion - Curve 4 06-14-2009 11:51 PM
Can BES handle more than one Carrier? strawnj General BlackBerry Discussion 8 04-29-2007 04:18 AM

Tektronix TM503A 3 Slot Mainframe - does not include modules - With Box
$149.99
Tektronix TM503A 3 Slot Mainframe - does not include modules - With Box pictureAGILENT 8166A Lightwave Multichannel System Mainframe ONLY
$2799.0
AGILENT 8166A Lightwave Multichannel System Mainframe ONLY pictureTektronix TM506A Six Bay Mainframe / Chassis
$149.97
Tektronix TM506A Six Bay Mainframe / Chassis pictureAgilent 16902B Logic Analyzer Mainframe, 6-Slot w/4x 16962A Modules and Cables
$1500.0
Agilent 16902B Logic Analyzer Mainframe, 6-Slot w/4x 16962A Modules and Cables pictureRohde & Schwarz MSCU Mainframe & 5 Modules T42 F127 F4 T40N F127 1513.8506.02
$1250.0
Rohde & Schwarz MSCU Mainframe & 5 Modules T42 F127 F4 T40N F127 1513.8506.02  picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.