Old 02-18-2007, 12:05 AM   #1
livspop
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 9630
Carrier: Verizon (Alltel)
Default BB 8703e vs. Motorola Q

Please Login to Remove!

I'm a newbie here, so be gentle....

Anyway, here's my situation - I'm with Alltel and they are expected to release the Motorola Q in a couple of weeks. Last week, in anticipation of that happening, I decided to try the BB 8703e. Alltel gives me a 30-day window to try a new smartphone before I'm stuck with it and I've always wanted to try a BB but never have. I did this assuming I wouldn't like it much because it wasn't as flashy as some other smartphones and I tend to be a little bit of a gadget freak.

Boy, was I wrong. I really love the 8703e so far. Battery life has been good, the phone itself is excellent and it's very easy to use. Only two minor issues - sometimes the push doesn't seem to work as quickly as I thought it would (I'm using BIS and it could be an issue with my email server at work or gmail) and for some strange reason (I've seen others on this forum mention it) the green flashing service light will just "disappear" for periods of time. These things are not deal breakers...

So, my dilemma is this: I have been counting down the days until the Q comes out, but now I'm confused. I'm hoping someone here has had some experience with the Q and a BB and can give me some pros and cons and suggestions as to which phone is best.

Any input is appreciated!
Old 02-18-2007, 12:36 AM   #2
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator

Model: Z30
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon

Wirelessly posted (8700g: BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

The Q may be flashier, but you'll look much smarter with your BB, and in the longrun have a much more reliable device.