Closed Thread

Old 11-24-2008, 12:19 PM   #1
brabusc

Model: 9530
Carrier: Verizon
Default Verizon Phone Insurance

Please Login to Remove!

Hi everyone,

I am new to Verizon and I got the STORM...I know Verizon was good with my friends phones whenever they broke, they mailed them out a new phone and they just had to send the broken one back; however, these were with normal phones and not smart phones. So I am curious on how Verizon would treat the BlackBerry Storm...I currently have the $5.99 a month Extended Warranty or Total Equipment Coverage insurance, however when I read part of the device exchange terms this part scares me:

"If you're having a problem with your device, just contact Verizon Wireless toll–free at 1.866.406.5154 from a landline phone. We'll diagnose the issue with you right over the phone. If we cannot resolve the problem while you're on the line and the problem is caused by a manufacturing defect within the first year you own the device, we'll send you a Certified Like–New Replacement (either a like unit or one of comparable quality) right to your door at no cost to you."

When they say "or one of comparable quality" I am scared they would send me another BlackBerry and not a Storm. I only ask this because of all the "issues" that the Storm can get into...i.e. buttons falling off, dust under screen, or if it just so happens to break.

I guess to stop my rambling, I am just curious from past Verizon customers, would Verizon screw me over if my phone breaks and send me a different BlackBerry? How about within the One-Year manufactur warranty, how about after the first year?

Thanks in advanced for any help...trying to ease my mind.
Old 11-24-2008, 12:30 PM   #2
koki
Thumbs Must Hurt

Carrier: BIG RED

if by some in a few years the storm is no longer being made and they dont have one to replace your broken one they will give you a phone equal to your phone...i experience this when they stop selling the v710 and insurance sent me a new e815