BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 02-14-2011, 10:13 PM   #1
LeslieN

Model: 9550
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Default Corrupted Synching - Storm to Outlook Contacts - HELP!

Please Login to Remove!

OK...so about two weeks ago, I realized I needed to sync my phone (Storm I - 9350 I think) to my laptop (with 2003 Outlook). I have added to contacts on both the laptop and the cell phone and it had been awhile since I synched the two. So when I opened my Blackberry Desktop manager, it told me there was an updated version I could upload. I thought...hmmm...and then clicked OK. So it uploaded the new version.

When I sent to sync everything then, it duplicated most of my contacts (about 2500 - I'm a REALTOR!) in both the phone/device and my contacts in Outlook 2003. The filing was all screwy on the duplicated ones -- the "John & Mary Smith" filed as "& Mary, Smith John." It wouldn't allow me to correct the "file by" portion either. Needless to say, it was not fun...but it didn't do that to all of them. Some were simply duplicated and filed OK. I did a search and moved the "&" contacts into a separate folder (since some were going to be the new contacts from the device that I wanted in my laptop). I figured I was going to have to do some manually fixing--quite time consuming with the number of contacts in my computer. So I didn't get right on it.

Well a couple of days later (last Monday - Feb 7th) the phone "crumped" (as my ex-paramedic husband would say); it went "10-7" (he's a cop now). I got the "white screen of death" with a tiny error message on it. No amount of reboots fixed it. I took it to the Verizon store and they concurred. They mailed me a new phone the next day.