BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2008, 03:05 PM   #1
jubrand
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
jubrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.231
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 352
Default Desktop manager 4.6 (or 4.7) won't work

Please Login to Remove!

when I connect to desktop manager, it recognizes my bb, and I get the "connected to desktop" screen on my BB. But, it seems to just sit there and not do anything. I have to kill the DM eventually. The arrows never appear on the BB screen to show the data transfer like they normally do. I've tried uninstalling 4.7 and reinstalling it, and uninstalling it and reinstalling 4.6 with no luck. Help!

(Sorry, this is an 8320)
Offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 03:11 PM   #2
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

What version of Outlook are you using?
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 03:11 PM   #3
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

What are you expecting DM to do? Sync or backup?

Unless you have that set for an automatic sync, your must tell it to sync manually.
Are you opening Desktop Manager, manually?
Offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 03:44 PM   #4
jubrand
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
jubrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.231
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 352
Default

I'm using Outlook 2007, and it used to work fine. I'm opening it manually, and I'm on BES, so I just open it to backup once in awhile, and to run my cryptmagic add in. Today I was running it once before I updated my Curve to the latest OS.

The problem is that it starts up and then the DM box goes blank and just shows the black and blue background wallpaper. It won't respond to anything at all. I have to kill it with task manager. As long as it's running, my BB keeps the "connected to desktop" on the screen, but doesn't appear to do anything.
Offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 04:06 PM   #5
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Reboot the PC, and try again.
Offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 04:07 PM   #6
SteveO86
BlackBerryForums.com Super Moderator
 
SteveO86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.280
PIN: I heard it drop!
Carrier: VZW BIS
Posts: 6,534
Default

Which OS did you update to? Also do you reactivate it since the upgrade?
__________________
8830 -> 8330 -> 9550 -> 9650
Just think about how far BlackBerries have come from then till now... And what else is coming.

Follow me on Twitter
Offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 04:33 PM   #7
jubrand
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
jubrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.231
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 352
Default

Rebooted, no luck. I haven't actually updated the OS yet, I haven't even run the downloaded file to update. I just hadn't used DM for awhile so I booted it up before messing with the backup and this started happening. My BB OS right now is 4.5.0.81, and it has been for awhile. DM worked fine before with it.

I even think DM 4.7 worked at least once since I installed it, but I can't be sure. Regardless, neither 4.7 or 4.6 works now, even with a clean install.
Offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 05:10 PM   #8
devnull
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: I747
OS: 4.1.1
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 2,339
Default

- make sure you're using a known good cable.
- make sure you're using a proper usb port(not hub)
- perhaps try on a different PC just to help isolate the problem.
__________________
The Search tool and BlackBerryFAQ answer many questions.
Offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 05:35 PM   #9
jubrand
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
jubrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.231
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by devnull View Post
- make sure you're using a known good cable.
- make sure you're using a proper usb port(not hub)
- perhaps try on a different PC just to help isolate the problem.
Tried that and started getting a USB device not recognized error. So I reset the BB and that seems to have fixed it. Thanks for the help guys!
Offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 05:39 PM   #10
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jubrand View Post
Tried that and started getting a USB device not recognized error. So I reset the BB and that seems to have fixed it. Thanks for the help guys!
A reboot is always the first thing to try.
Offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 05:54 PM   #11
jubrand
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
jubrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.231
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
A reboot is always the first thing to try.
I was thinking the computer, not the BB. After I finally rebooted it, I felt foolish for not trying that to begin with!
Offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 04:58 PM   #12
Doctor Neutron
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Doctor Neutron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 57
Default

Yes, do try the cable with another machine. With your BB attached, dismiss any instance of the DM. Double click on My Computer. Can Windows see any USB-like drives ?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

LOT(4)RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC SCSI 16MB
$675.0
LOT(4)RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC SCSI 16MB pictureRADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-31 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC Module card
$185.0
RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-31 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC  Module  card pictureRADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-31 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC Module card SCSI
$185.0
RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-31 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC Module card SCSI pictureRADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC SCSI 16MB
$185.0
RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC SCSI 16MB pictureRADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC
$185.0
RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.