BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2009, 10:21 PM   #1
Mattywalnuts
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Mattywalnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Model: 8830
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: Options->Status->Hmm
Carrier: Evil Empire
Posts: 105
Default App World Currency and Missing Apps

Please Login to Remove!

Just actived a Storm for my wife and her App World is currently showing currency in Euros. In addition, many apps aren't showing up in App World (ie. pandora, poynt). I've added these apps via their websites however this is a pain. I'm assuming that this has something to do with the incorrect currency.

Any thoughts ? Thanks.
__________________
Me: 8830 > Pre > 8830 > Moto Droid

Wifey: Pre > 8530
Offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 10:50 PM   #2
MrKyoo
BlackBerry Master
 
MrKyoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 4s
OS: iOS
PIN: 79B32491
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 4,546
Default

http://www.blackberryforums.com/afte...ml#post1481131
Offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 10:13 AM   #3
Mattywalnuts
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Mattywalnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Model: 8830
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: Options->Status->Hmm
Carrier: Evil Empire
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKyoo View Post
I tried deleting and reinstalling twice, still no luck.
__________________
Me: 8830 > Pre > 8830 > Moto Droid

Wifey: Pre > 8530
Offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 10:46 AM   #4
MrKyoo
BlackBerry Master
 
MrKyoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 4s
OS: iOS
PIN: 79B32491
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 4,546
Default

Try this...
Quote:
Select an app to purchase, then log into paypal. Back out and don't actually buy the app. It should now be in US $ again and stay like that
Offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 10:56 AM   #5
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Matty,

RIM is aware of this issue and is working on it. Meanwhile, if you are on VZW, then the work around is to remove the GSM SIM from your BB. On VZW, the SIM is not needed for anything unless you are travelling away from the US; If you are not on VZW yet are on another CDMA carrier, you can try removing the SIM as well...but I am not positive that works OK with all other CDMA carriers.
Offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 09:10 PM   #6
Mattywalnuts
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Mattywalnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Model: 8830
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: Options->Status->Hmm
Carrier: Evil Empire
Posts: 105
Default

Thank you Mr. Sanders this worked. Of all software issues, this seems like a pretty dumb one and something that should have been addressed right away.
__________________
Me: 8830 > Pre > 8830 > Moto Droid

Wifey: Pre > 8530
Offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 10:38 PM   #7
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

It is being addressed, it's only occurred with the most recent version of App World, and RIM is trying to figure out the various instances in which this occurs (it's pretty much verified with Verizon, now which others, like Telus, Sprint, etc.)
Offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 12:32 AM   #8
Sydman
CrackBerry Addict
 
Sydman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9930
OS: 7.0.0.374
PIN: HEAD
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 666
Default

So I just downgraded from OS 5.0.0.230 back to 4.7.1.53 and my app world currency was Euro. Did the purchase item and it switch my currency back to US dollars and stayed that way. For now
__________________
"You can't be truly free unless you have nothing to lose."
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

6ES7151-7AB00-0AB0 SIEMENS SIMATIC INTERFACE MODULE /CPU . NEW IN BOX .1PCS
$698.8
6ES7151-7AB00-0AB0  SIEMENS  SIMATIC INTERFACE MODULE /CPU . NEW IN BOX .1PCS picturePLC Siemens Simatic + HMI, CPU IM-151-7
$1550.0
PLC Siemens Simatic + HMI, CPU IM-151-7 pictureUSED AP-545V V1.3 industrial motherboard without CPU 100% tested
$143.5
USED AP-545V V1.3 industrial motherboard without CPU 100% tested pictureSiemens Simatic S7-1200 CPU1215C AC/DC/RLY
$400.0
Siemens Simatic S7-1200 CPU1215C AC/DC/RLY picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.