eZainny
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Optus
Default BES newbie reporting for BES101: "Getting Started"

Please Login to Remove!

Hi All,

I'm a BlackBerry application developer and just recently installed the express version for application testing, etc. After a couple of setup hiccups, everything appears to be working OK (the logs are clean). It should also firstly be noted that I know next to nothing about Exchange, BES's, etc. I'm just learning as I go...So don't make any assumptions about my knowledge

The BlackBerry that I want to test with is currently in BIS mode. How exactly do I now make it connect to the BES? I know that I can connect the device up to the BES machine, and assign a user account to the device, but wouldn't something need to be done by my network provider?

ie. In BIS mode, I imagine that whenever I do something on the BB (ie. make a http request in the browser) this goes over the wireless network to the providers own internet gateway which takes care of handling the request and returning the response.

When I want to connect this device up to a BES, wouldn't I need to call my provider and tell them to redirect requests from my BB to my BES. What kind of information will I need to provide them (eg. BES IP address, anything else?)?. And will they just let me switch back and forward like that?

No doubt more questions to come

Cheers in advance for the help.
Old 04-29-2007, 08:16 PM   #2
eZainny

Hi All,

Well, I did a little bit more searching and yes, found out that I need to contact my provider and tell them to "provision" (correct word?) BES for the BlackBerry. I guess what I'm just unsure about now is the details that I will need to provide them?
Old 04-29-2007, 10:23 PM   #3
eZainny

Hi All,

Could this be a thread exclusively replied in by only me?