BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2011, 03:10 PM   #1
tbernstein
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 20
Angry Desktop software

Please Login to Remove!

Suddenly desktop software started denying that my Curve 8520 was connected.(It was fine the day before).
I tried a reinstall, which seemed to be working, but it made no difference.
Windows 7 could see it. The driver installed The usual USB connection sound happened, but the software just wouldn't admit that I was connected.
I ran all the checks, including trying a different Curve, cable, USB point.
The other Curve couldn't connect either/
I tried all the suggested fixes (e.g. USB power setting, fire wall).
I tried a system restore to when it was working.
Nothing.
I tried installing from the (" hidden" ) admin user. Nothing.
I looked at the website and as suggested went to the software version that was listed for my carrier (5.x, I had been on 6.x) and clean installed that. It seemd to instal fine, but then didn't appear on my computer at all.
Windows uninstaller has it listed, but the actual program files aren't there in c:\program files and don't appear in a search.
So now I have no desktop manager at all.

What do i do?
Offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 03:13 PM   #2
ndub33
Stuck In The '70's Mod
 
ndub33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The 'burbs east of Seattle.
Model: 9810
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 7,600
Default Re: Desktop software

If you have no DM at all currently, try reinstalling the latest version. You can also updgrade your OS or add/delete apps using App Loader.
__________________
1st Step in Troubleshooting: Do you have a BlackBerry Data Plan?
2nd Step in Troubleshooting: Pull the Battery.
Offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 03:55 PM   #3
tbernstein
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 20
Angry Re: Desktop software

I've managed to get the desktop back to its (non-functioning) working point by doing another system restore to undo all the various things I've tried.
However, it still won't connect.
Significantly, when it starts up the "troubleshoot my connection" link appears instantly - before I've even had time to connect the BB.

It's as if the software can't speak to Windows, if that makes sense.

PS My old pocket PC connected fine to the USB point, so it's not a hardware fault.

Last edited by tbernstein; 07-29-2011 at 04:05 PM..
Offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 04:08 PM   #4
tbernstein
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 20
Default Re: Desktop software

This is a screen shot of what I get.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	no bb working.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	19362  

Last edited by tbernstein; 07-29-2011 at 04:14 PM..
Offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 04:11 PM   #5
ndub33
Stuck In The '70's Mod
 
ndub33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The 'burbs east of Seattle.
Model: 9810
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 7,600
Default Re: Desktop software

What version of DM is it? You might try completely deinstalling and reinstalling the latest version.
__________________
1st Step in Troubleshooting: Do you have a BlackBerry Data Plan?
2nd Step in Troubleshooting: Pull the Battery.
Offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 04:18 PM   #6
tbernstein
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 20
Default Re: Desktop software

It was 6.x, then I went back to 5.x that's the one that didn't appear.
And now it's version 6.x again.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	no bb working.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	19363  
Offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 04:19 PM   #7
ndub33
Stuck In The '70's Mod
 
ndub33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The 'burbs east of Seattle.
Model: 9810
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 7,600
Default Re: Desktop software

Try deinstalling and reinstalling it.
__________________
1st Step in Troubleshooting: Do you have a BlackBerry Data Plan?
2nd Step in Troubleshooting: Pull the Battery.
Offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 04:29 PM   #8
tbernstein
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 20
Default Re: Desktop software

I've done that a few times; including using "run as administrator" and the administrator account to install.
I've also used revo uninstaller to do some of the uninstalls..
I've also been through the registry to remove the traces manually.
Nothing worked.

And the drivers are clearly installed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	no bb working  2 .jpg
Views:	5
Size:	78.1 KB
ID:	19364  
Offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 04:50 PM   #9
tbernstein
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 20
Default Re: Desktop software

And this is interesting.....

Considering that the software in question is what is generating the message that says it isn't installed...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	no bb working3 .jpg
Views:	5
Size:	54.3 KB
ID:	19365  
Offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 05:26 PM   #10
ndub33
Stuck In The '70's Mod
 
ndub33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The 'burbs east of Seattle.
Model: 9810
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 7,600
Default Re: Desktop software

Wow. That is interesting.

Were you on Windows 7 the last time you had a version of DM that worked properly?
__________________
1st Step in Troubleshooting: Do you have a BlackBerry Data Plan?
2nd Step in Troubleshooting: Pull the Battery.
Offline  
Old 07-30-2011, 02:48 AM   #11
tbernstein
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 20
Default Re: Desktop software

It was working fine 2 days ago.
(Three days ago now).
Suddenly... not.
And I don't know of any change.
I've disabled things that update, like Avast, Windows Defender etc.
Still nothing.
Oh well, off on vacation tonight and I'll try again when I return.
Offline  
Old 07-30-2011, 02:45 PM   #12
tbernstein
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 20
Default Re: Desktop software

Update.
I tried one last time. I removed and reinstalled the DM.
Only, after it had apparently installed launched and went into update, but never stopped.When I looked at program files there werer no RIM files in it .
Offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 05:24 PM   #13
tbernstein
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 20
Default Re: Desktop software

Back from vacation.
And still no desktop manager.
Drivers are installing when I connect.
I can see my BB in My Computer.
But desktop manager won't run and though there are lots of of Rim DTM files in "common files" nothing appears in "programme files"

EDIT.
I've now renstalled V6.
It runs but can't recognise the blackberry is connected.

Last edited by tbernstein; 08-15-2011 at 05:37 PM..
Offline  
Old 12-21-2011, 11:33 AM   #14
tbernstein
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Virgin
Posts: 20
Default Re: Desktop software

I sorted the problem out eventually.
But I don't understand how.
I moved the USB from a fixed USB socket to a hub. Which is just the opposite of what you'd normally do. Just as an experiment. But it worked.
It shouldn't have done. But it did.
And then a few days later I moved it back to the fixed USB socket. Just as another experiment.
And it still worked. And it's still working.
And I don't understand.
It's like some kind of magic trick.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: Desktop software
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blackberry Desktop Software Install Problem rybo General Legacy Device Discussion 8 04-29-2008 10:31 AM
Deploying apps through the BES Gavsta General 8300 Series Discussion - Curve 3 08-26-2007 08:33 AM
desktop software question bob_az RIM Software 1 08-14-2007 05:49 PM

JOHNSON CONTROLS P15JJ-1 SERIES P15 SOLID STATE CONDENSER FAN SPEED CONTROL
$13.0
JOHNSON CONTROLS P15JJ-1 SERIES P15 SOLID STATE CONDENSER FAN SPEED CONTROL pictureJOHNSON CONTROLS P15DJ-15 CONDENSER FAN SPEED CONTROL 208/240VAC, HERTZ:50/60
$13.0
JOHNSON CONTROLS P15DJ-15 CONDENSER FAN SPEED CONTROL 208/240VAC, HERTZ:50/60 pictureJOHNSON CONTROLS P15AK-3 CONDENSER FAN SPEED CONTROL, 440-480VAC 50/60 HERTZ
$13.0
JOHNSON CONTROLS P15AK-3 CONDENSER FAN SPEED CONTROL, 440-480VAC 50/60 HERTZ pictureJohnson Controls P352AB-2C Electronic On/Off Pressure Control, SPDT Relay
$123.5
Johnson Controls P352AB-2C Electronic On/Off Pressure Control, SPDT Relay pictureJohnson Controls M300MJ Fire Alarm Addressable Monitor Module
$44.99
Johnson Controls M300MJ Fire Alarm Addressable Monitor Module picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.