Old 10-14-2006, 02:35 PM   #1
tony597fitter
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8100
Carrier: tmobile
Smile confused about yahoo messenger costs on 8100 and unlimited data plan

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,
I just got 2-8100s one for me the other for my wife. I got the myfaves family plan with the 19.99 unlimited blackberry plan for both. Now from what I read and searched I thought with Yahoo messenger it was supposed to be free (part of the data plan). I just logged in to my.tmobile site and it shows I am being charged 10 cents for every message. I also called cust. service and they told me it is not included in the data plan, and it is charged for every message. I am new to this whole BB thing (but I love them so far) now am I missing something here? Do I need to add a messaging plan to my data plan? Also if it is going to cost me money (yahoo messenger) can I use the BB messenger, and would that be completely free? Sorry so long and yes I did search, and from what I understand I thought it should have been free.
Thanks.
Old 10-14-2006, 02:39 PM   #2
Liv
BlackBerry Extraordinaire

Model: 8330
Carrier: Sprint

I was told in order to use Yahoo, you need to add on the text messaging plan. Because it uses SMS, not Data. So I am going to get the $15.00 unlimited messaging (text, video, picture and IMs is what it covers)

Device: Sprint 8330 Curve - Crimson
My heart belongs to Seattle18 (Who I met on the Forums, ironic.)
Old 10-14-2006, 02:47 PM   #3
tony597fitter

This is what I found in Marks FAQ link. Now how I read it, Yahoo mess. is supposed to use data. I not 100% sure, I am still confused about it.

Advantages of Using Instant Messaging Over SMS

Some people have asked what are the advantages of using a dedicated instant messaging client instead of using plain old SMS. Most BlackBerry IM clients such as VeriChat and WebMessenger use data instead of SMS text messages.

Advantages Of Using IM Instead Of SMS: