BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 01-23-2006, 10:34 AM   #1
RochesterBBOwner
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8700C
Default Supreme Court rejects BlackBerry appeal

Please Login to Remove!

I am no legal expert, but I think this only means that the Supreme Court will not change the lower court;s current position. But, I believe the lower court will end up taking into account the stated intention of the US Patnet Office to reject NTP's patents. So, my personal opinion is that this ruling does make too much difference. Thoughts?

http://news.com.com/Supreme+Court+re...3-6029671.html

Supreme Court rejects BlackBerry appeal

By Reuters

Story last modified Mon Jan 23 07:09:00 PST 2006

The U.S. Supreme Court on Monday turned down a request to review a major patent infringement ruling against the maker of the BlackBerry e-mail device.
The high court rejected a petition by Research In Motion to review a federal appeals court ruling that could lead to a shutdown of most U.S. BlackBerry sales and service.

On Oct. 26, Chief Justice John Roberts turned down an earlier request by RIM to stay the lower court's patent infringement ruling while the high court decides whether to hear a RIM appeal.

More details to follow.

Story Copyright © 2006 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved.

Copyright ©1995-2006 CNET Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.
Old 01-23-2006, 11:58 AM   #2
Tylar

Model: 8310
Carrier: AT&T

Agreed.

Multiple news agencies report that the Patent office is indicating rejection of the patents, thereby making all of this a waste of time. We'll see what develops, but i'm stil pretty encouraged by the fact that mutliple news agencies on multiple continents have the same report about the US Patent Office.

I'll cross my thumbs in the meantime.
Old 01-23-2006, 12:05 PM   #3
diesel
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 7100T