BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2010, 03:27 PM   #1
sacrone
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: bell
Posts: 12
Default iphone wifi vs BB wifi ?

Please Login to Remove!

Hey, i have an ipod touch, and the wi fi is just great with it. Is the blackberry wifi as fast as the Ipod/Iphone wifi ??
Offline  
Old 09-08-2010, 03:51 PM   #2
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

I don't know how fast the Apple products are. Like comparing grapes with oranges.

Too many factors at play that are outside of your control.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 09-09-2010, 07:53 PM   #3
Trimix
BlackBerry Master
 
Trimix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: smelLA, caLAMEfornia
Model: 8320
OS: 4.5.0.182
PIN: infarina
Carrier: of alotta bacteria
Posts: 4,932
Default

I think it's like comparing apples to blackberries....

but that's just me =)
Offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 12:11 PM   #4
ionix
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Model: 9550
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Globe Telecoms
Posts: 3
Default Re: iphone wifi vs BB wifi ?

you still need a data plan to connect to the internet for BB, not unlike with iphone/ipod connecting is so easy..

Just got a Storm 2 unlocked phone...been trying to connect to the internet using my wi-fi at home, it can't obtain an IP address but its connected to the router....do i really need a data plan just to connect to internet...can't i just simply use my wifi like with my iphone?

tnx much...pls help...im a newby BB owner...
Offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 12:16 PM   #5
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: iphone wifi vs BB wifi ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ionix View Post
you still need a data plan to connect to the internet for BB, not unlike with iphone/ipod connecting is so easy..

Just got a Storm 2 unlocked phone...been trying to connect to the internet using my wi-fi at home, it can't obtain an IP address but its connected to the router....do i really need a data plan just to connect to internet...can't i just simply use my wifi like with my iphone?

tnx much...pls help...im a newby BB owner...
I hope tht you realize you posed in a months old thread.

As for WiFi, some cariers require that you have BB data plan before you get the WiFi service book which allows the WiFi connection. Check with your carrier. Also try the hotspot browser or OperaMini rather than the BB browser.

In any case, you need a BB data plan for the RIM services such as email, BBM, BB Browser, FaceBook, maps, most IM programs, etc.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 12:37 PM   #6
ionix
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Model: 9550
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Globe Telecoms
Posts: 3
Default Re: iphone wifi vs BB wifi ?

[QUOTE=Dubdub;1692325]I hope tht you realize you posed in a months old thread.

As for WiFi, some cariers require that you have BB data plan before you get the WiFi service book which allows the WiFi connection. Check with your carrier. Also try the hotspot browser or OperaMini rather than the BB browser.

In any case, you need a BB data plan for the RIM services such as email, BBM, BB Browser, FaceBook, maps, most IM programs, etc.[/QUOte

Is the OperaMini dwnloadable? So there's no other way to connect to the internet using wifi? i also turned off may data service....im really getting little bit crazy here...sorry!
Offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 12:57 PM   #7
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: iphone wifi vs BB wifi ?

As I said, call your carrier and see if they will send the WiFi service book without a BB data plan.

Can't turn off data services if you want WiFi. WiFi is data.

Use Google to find OperaMini.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

NEW OEM IBM Selectric III Bicycle NON-Correctable Fabric ribbon 1299509 Blue Box
$14.95
NEW OEM IBM Selectric III Bicycle NON-Correctable Fabric ribbon 1299509 Blue Box pictureIBM SELECTRIC LETTER GOTHIC TWELVE PICAS OEM ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT SHIPS FROM FL
$11.99
IBM SELECTRIC LETTER GOTHIC TWELVE PICAS OEM ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT SHIPS FROM FL pictureVintage OEM ‘IBM 1337765 Easystrike Lift-Off Tape Cassette Made in USA in 1984
$7.5
Vintage OEM ‘IBM 1337765 Easystrike Lift-Off Tape Cassette Made in USA in 1984 pictureGENUINE ORIGINAL OEM IBM 33L3537 BULB FOR DP1000 DP1000X ILM300 NLV
$29.95
GENUINE ORIGINAL OEM IBM 33L3537 BULB FOR DP1000 DP1000X ILM300 NLV pictureGENUINE ORIGINAL OEM IBM 33L3537 BULB FOR DP1000 DP1000X ILM300 NMV
$59.95
GENUINE ORIGINAL OEM IBM 33L3537 BULB FOR DP1000 DP1000X ILM300 NMV picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.