BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2012, 06:08 AM   #1
aessexuk
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 1
Default UK to USA???

Please Login to Remove!

Dear All,

I am going to be moving to the US and want to take my blackberry over to the USA.

I have done this a few times and overall it has worked out great. I picked up a sim card from AT&T once and for $2 a day I had unlimited calling and texting. Good stuff!!

Another time I picked up a sim card from T-Mobile for $50 for a month again with unlimited calling etc mainly because I trust the brand in the UK (not in the USA anymore)!!!

QUESTION:

My question is I want to use Verizon but I hear they use a different form of technology Sprint also use the same technology. Something which does not need a sim card. WEIRD in my opinion since sim cards are all I know.

Has someone done this before? I am using a cheap and cheerful 8520. Any issues on this?
Offline  
Old 05-28-2012, 06:15 AM   #2
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default Re: UK to USA???

The 8520 will not (ever) work on Sprint or Verizon.
They use a different technology (as you noted) called CDMA which doesn't use SIM cards. Not weird. Just different. You also can't take a phone from another carrier and use it on Sprint or Verizon. "Unlocking" is not in their vocabulary.

T-Mobile USA uses different frequencies than T-Mobile UK.

My suggestion would be to visit authorized carrier stores once you move to the US and find out what the best model and deal is for you. Most important is to choose the carrier that has the best coverage for you as they are all different, and they have different voice and data plans.
Offline  
Old 05-29-2012, 10:24 AM   #3
knottyrope
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: DT60
OS: 123456789
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 7,325
Default Re: UK to USA???

AT&T might be your best bet unless you want to upgrade, the 8520 is a entry level 2G device that came out a few years ago or so. Any OS 7 new devie will perform much better (faster CPU and more RAM) and give you 3G access on most of them.
__________________
I had to fall
To lose it all
But in the end
It doesn't even matter

Rocking the Motion with out lotion.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: UK to USA???
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Change USA dictionary to UK? jw8725 General BlackBerry Discussion 3 10-08-2010 08:17 PM
Using my UK Blackberry in USA BBNewbieUK General BlackBerry Discussion 1 07-06-2010 04:44 AM
Uk to USA ConorJ General 8500 Series Discussion - Gemini 13 06-01-2010 06:23 AM
Sync Error Code 0x80040fb3 for pete's sake General BlackBerry Discussion 2 05-24-2010 02:56 PM
buying an unlocked blackberry in usa to use in uk..will it work?? kevfromdurbs General BlackBerry Discussion 3 08-04-2009 06:45 AM

VTG Cold War-Era Tube-Type Geiger Counter Radiation Detector - CLASSMASTER 6320
$174.99
VTG Cold War-Era Tube-Type Geiger Counter Radiation Detector - CLASSMASTER 6320 pictureVintage Telonic XD-6A Dual Polarity RF Detector 
$5.5
Vintage Telonic XD-6A Dual Polarity RF Detector   pictureUS Army Air Forces Military USAAF Federal Dial Indicator C71 .0005" Vtg Man Gift
$49.99
US Army Air Forces Military USAAF Federal Dial Indicator C71 .0005Vintage Safeline Welding Goggles Steampunk GOOD CONDITION
$25.99
Vintage Safeline Welding Goggles Steampunk GOOD CONDITION picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.