BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2011, 09:14 PM   #1
ery_88
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: iusacell
Posts: 2
Default Change carrier

Please Login to Remove!

Hi, I joust got a used Blackberry Storm but it`s set up to be used with iusacell (latin america) and i would like to change it to Telcel (latin america as well), but don`t know how to do it, can anyone help me please.
Offline  
Old 01-10-2011, 09:19 PM   #2
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: Change carrier

Which Storm do you have? Please update your profile with the model number, not hthe name.

If Telcel is a GSM carrier, then you need to get the device unlocked and have Telcel activate it on their network.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 01-10-2011, 09:26 PM   #3
ery_88
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: iusacell
Posts: 2
Default Re: Change carrier

it is a 9530, will update, telcel is GSM, so i have to get in touch with them ???
Offline  
Old 01-14-2011, 06:45 PM   #4
rambo47
Latino Hasta La Muerte
 
rambo47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denville, NJ.
Model: 9370
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9,063
Default Re: Change carrier

You have to get the device unlocked. You can get the code from this forum: BlackBerry Forums Support Community - Unlock Your BlackBerry!!

You also have to ensure it's not still associated with an account on the last carrier. Contact the previous owner for that.
Offline  
Old 01-18-2011, 06:03 PM   #5
mttj
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Model: curve
PIN: N/A
Carrier: att
Posts: 3
Default Re: Change carrier

I'm switching from sprint and going to get a Verizon account and I was told there would be no problem as long as it's unlocked.
Offline  
Old 01-18-2011, 06:15 PM   #6
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Change carrier

That's incorrect.
Verizon will not activate a Sprint device.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 01-18-2011, 06:24 PM   #7
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: Change carrier

Quote:
Originally Posted by mttj View Post
I'm switching from sprint and going to get a Verizon account and I was told there would be no problem as long as it's unlocked.
You will need to get a new device.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: Change carrier
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change carrier software stu2010uk Carrier Specific Issues 9 11-28-2010 03:57 PM
Delete an email account after carrier change and device change yasir.gulzar General BlackBerry Discussion 5 09-01-2010 08:46 PM
Delete email accts from device after carrier change 18pcs General 9700 Series Discussion - Bold 2 1 06-06-2010 03:10 AM
Phone # change; do i need to change anything on server? manage2bbs General BlackBerry Discussion 3 11-13-2008 09:03 AM
Noob- Change 8700g sig. without using carrier site? BlackBerry1587 General Legacy Device Discussion 4 09-22-2006 09:47 PM

ICSH044A Five key navigation key module for Blackberry Trackball Breakout Board
$10.55
ICSH044A Five key navigation key module for Blackberry Trackball Breakout Board pictureBlackberry Q10 Rogers Network
$44.99
Blackberry Q10 Rogers Network pictureBlackberry Trackball breakout board four spindles 2.5V~5.25V
$6.8
Blackberry Trackball breakout board four spindles 2.5V~5.25V picture10pcs Blackberry Trackball Breakout Board Four spindles 2.5V~5.25V
$50.99
10pcs Blackberry Trackball Breakout Board Four spindles 2.5V~5.25V picture38 Faux Blackberries With Stems, Decor, Realistic Food Display, Prop
$17.99
38 Faux Blackberries With Stems, Decor, Realistic Food Display, Prop  picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.