BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2008, 01:29 PM   #1
jagthompson
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
jagthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Briarwood, NY
Model: 9630
PIN: 30B4090A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 18
Default Google Maps does not work on Verizon w/o BB Maps???

Please Login to Remove!

I just swithed to Verizon. I have the 8130 pearl. I was trying to save space so i deleted the Blackberry Maps that came with the phone. I figured that I didn't need it because, one I couldn't get it to work and two I love Google Maps. Before I deleted BB Maps Google maps worked fine. After I deleted BB Maps, Google Maps could no longer find my location. I downloaded BB Maps OTA and now google maps works again. I am just a bit confused because I had an ATT 8300 before and google maps worked fine without BB Maps. Anyone ever here of this?
Offline  
Old 02-03-2008, 01:34 PM   #2
Sith_Apprentice
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Sith_Apprentice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.xxx
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 10,149
Default

You are getting the tower triangulation with Google Maps? And i do not have BB maps on my 8130 and Google Maps finds my tower location just fine. Did you try a hard reset when it wouldnt find your location?
Offline  
Old 02-03-2008, 01:37 PM   #3
jagthompson
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
jagthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Briarwood, NY
Model: 9630
PIN: 30B4090A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 18
Default

Yes. I did a hardrest. It was not able to find the nearest tower. When I clicked on find my location it wouldn't load.
Offline  
Old 02-03-2008, 01:40 PM   #4
Sith_Apprentice
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Sith_Apprentice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.xxx
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 10,149
Default

that is very strange. you wont get GPS on it without using an external puck, but you should get tower triangulation none the less
Offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 08:05 PM   #5
StuartV
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
StuartV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0.0.607
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sith_Apprentice View Post
that is very strange. you wont get GPS on it without using an external puck, but you should get tower triangulation none the less
Why is that? I read in another thread people talking about the accuracy of the position in New York City and saying that it was accurate within a block. But mine (in Google Maps) says it's showing my position with 1700 meters (sometimes, or 5000 meters, other times).

ps. I deleted BB Maps after installing Google Maps, and I can't tell any difference in the way GM works now vs the way it did when BBM was installed.
__________________
- Stuart
Verizon 8130 (on the bench, now
Verizon 9530 (replaced by VZW 4 times, then with a 9550)
Verizon 9550
Offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 08:14 PM   #6
Dawg
No longer Registered.
 
Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 31a6c9c9
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 13,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuartV View Post
Why is that? I read in another thread people talking about the accuracy of the position in New York City and saying that it was accurate within a block. But mine (in Google Maps) says it's showing my position with 1700 meters (sometimes, or 5000 meters, other times).

ps. I deleted BB Maps after installing Google Maps, and I can't tell any difference in the way GM works now vs the way it did when BBM was installed.
verizon GPS doesnt work with out a seperate puck. Or you purchase vznavigator
Offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 08:14 PM   #7
StuartV
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
StuartV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0.0.607
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 480
Default

Wait. Never mind. Please don't give me 20000000000 responses on what an idiot I am for not searching. I figured something like that would be sticky. I didn't see it there, so I asked.

I have now read some threads further down and understand that Verizon is hosing me.
__________________
- Stuart
Verizon 8130 (on the bench, now
Verizon 9530 (replaced by VZW 4 times, then with a 9550)
Verizon 9550
Offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 08:15 PM   #8
StuartV
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
StuartV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0.0.607
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 480
Default

Dawg, thanks for the polite and tolerant response.

If I pay for VZNav, does that then enable the GPS to give decent accuracy even in other apps (e.g. Google Maps)?

Thanks again.
__________________
- Stuart
Verizon 8130 (on the bench, now
Verizon 9530 (replaced by VZW 4 times, then with a 9550)
Verizon 9550
Offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 08:17 PM   #9
Demon
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: 9530
PIN: 304fcd63
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuartV View Post
Dawg, thanks for the polite and tolerant response.

If I pay for VZNav, does that then enable the GPS to give decent accuracy even in other apps (e.g. Google Maps)?

Thanks again.
No, GPS will only work with VZ Nav.
__________________
Email me with all your VZW Blackberry needs
Need a Blackberry or plan change? Shoot me a email and I can help!
Offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 08:25 PM   #10
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuartV View Post
Dawg, thanks for the polite and tolerant response.
Alright, who kidnapped Dawg and what have you done with him?
Offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 09:19 PM   #11
Dawg
No longer Registered.
 
Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 31a6c9c9
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 13,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
Alright, who kidnapped Dawg and what have you done with him?
lmao i know right
Offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 11:30 PM   #12
Redflea
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Redflea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8130
OS: 4.5.0.131
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 1,598
Default

Actually, someone posted that if you purchase VZNav and open it, then you can open another app and the GPS will allow you to connect to it.

Not verified as far as I know, but someone said they had done it.

I do know that VZNav (installed, but not paid) will work w/an external GPS for navigation w/voice prompts. I've done that...
Offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 11:30 PM   #13
javeed_md
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AIRTEL
Posts: 1
Default

Hai,

Can anybody help me to delete Google Maps from my BB8800.

I tried doing this by desktop software, but could not find name of google maps under delete.

This is not available under applications in BB.

If GM is satarted the BB hangs, then I need to reset the system by removing battery and restart.

Thanks.
Offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 11:53 PM   #14
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

It is in Applications (options > advanced > applications). If it is not there, (listed as "Google Maps", then while in Applications, press menu to Modules, and look in there as well. Delete it. Then remove the battery and reboot if not asked to restart.
Offline  
Old 02-05-2008, 09:40 AM   #15
RobM
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
RobM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tampa Florida
Model: 8800
PIN: 240721B8
Carrier: Cingular/ATT
Posts: 342
Default

Sorry man...one of the problems with Verizon...otherwise is a good company from what I understand
__________________
Looking to Buy or Sell Property in the Tampa Bay Area
Tampa Real Estate|Tampa Foreclosures|Tampa Real Estate Blog
Offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 09:40 AM   #16
tigger96
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Model: 8139
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2
Default Google Maps GPS instructions

To enable GPS on Google Maps on Verizon, go to preferences > advanced > GPS and make sure that the option for GPS isn't set to 911 only, but "Location On."

I'm not sure, but you may have to access Blackberry Maps application after that.

Then, if you go to Google Maps, GPS will be enabled.

This works for me on Verizon.
Offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 10:11 AM   #17
neelsonwheels
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 18
Default

So looking at this old thread, someone posted that they can install VZNav but not pay for the service and use a puck and get all the functions? Have others done this? I'm guessing not as all the umpteen billion posts on Verizon and how adept they are at disabling GPS functioning. No where have I heard this before, but it wouldn't hurt to ask...

Last edited by neelsonwheels; 08-10-2008 at 10:13 AM..
Offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 10:29 AM   #18
Dodge DeBoulet
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Dodge DeBoulet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New England
Model: 9530
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tigger96 View Post
To enable GPS on Google Maps on Verizon, go to preferences > advanced > GPS and make sure that the option for GPS isn't set to 911 only, but "Location On."

I'm not sure, but you may have to access Blackberry Maps application after that.

Then, if you go to Google Maps, GPS will be enabled.

This works for me on Verizon.
And what sort of accuracy are you getting? If it's anything more than 100 meters, it's not GPS you're seeing . . . it's tower triangulation.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Keysight Used N6705A DC Power Analyzer Mainframe 600W, GPIB, USB, LAN, (Agilent)
$2730.0
Keysight Used N6705A DC Power Analyzer Mainframe 600W, GPIB, USB, LAN, (Agilent) picture1PCS Used Fanuc A02B-0319-D514/T oi mate-td mainframe frame Fully Tested#QW
$799.0
1PCS Used Fanuc A02B-0319-D514/T oi mate-td mainframe frame Fully Tested#QW pictureHewlett Packard/Agilent 66102A 0-20V 7.5A DC Power Module for 66000A Mainframe
$99.99
Hewlett Packard/Agilent 66102A 0-20V 7.5A DC Power Module for 66000A Mainframe pictureAgilent Infiniium DCA 86100A mainframe. Working, clean, very good condition
$1279.0
Agilent Infiniium DCA 86100A mainframe. Working, clean, very good condition pictureNational Instruments NI PXI-1045 Chassis / 18-Slot 3U PXI Mainframe
$129.99
National Instruments NI PXI-1045 Chassis / 18-Slot 3U PXI Mainframe picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.