BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2014, 08:45 PM   #1
hasmattamsah
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Model: z10
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 7
Default Will Verizon Factory Unlocked Z10 work on Telus?

Please Login to Remove!

Bought a Z10 in the states and was boxed and labelled as Factory Unlocked.
Now in Ontario and a Rogers sim works fine.
But Telus does Not. I need Telus .
Is my phone truly factory unlocked or a software unlocked.
Offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 09:23 PM   #2
tsac
BlackBerry Mensa
 
tsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Others run out when we run in
Model: Z10
OS: Cheerios
PIN: No Pin just a Tack
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 9,972
Default Re: Will Verizon Factory Unlocked Z10 work on Telus?

Telus sells Blackberry BB10 phones so unless they restrict users without a specific BB data aggrement or know you have a BB it may be blocked. If your a Telus customer call and ask

another thought, They require a specific SIM card for 4g phones
__________________
Z10 on BES
Z10 on BIS

Last edited by tsac; 02-21-2014 at 09:26 PM..
Offline  
Old 02-22-2014, 07:47 AM   #3
rambo47
Latino Hasta La Muerte
 
rambo47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denville, NJ.
Model: 9370
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9,063
Default Re: Will Verizon Factory Unlocked Z10 work on Telus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hasmattamsah View Post
Bought a Z10 in the states and was boxed and labelled as Factory Unlocked.
Now in Ontario and a Rogers sim works fine.
But Telus does Not. I need Telus .
Is my phone truly factory unlocked or a software unlocked.
Verizon phones come with the GSM side unlocked. It doesn't matter if it's "factory unlocked" or "software unlocked". This is clearly a Telus issue if the BlackBerry works properly on Rogers.
Offline  
Old 02-22-2014, 11:29 AM   #4
hasmattamsah
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Model: z10
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 7
Default Re: Will Verizon Factory Unlocked Z10 work on Telus?

tsac/rambo47
Thanks this is most helpful and logical.
i bought the Z10 primarily for a UK trip, but after playing with it on Wifi it's a very nice platform. I'm a Telus business customer with many iphone's but the BBZ10 is a very nice product. Additional bonus is the fact that when I loaded my Apple (icloud) email account into the Z10 it synced all my contacts/iCal/reminders/emial from the Mac. was not expecting that..
Offline  
Old 02-22-2014, 03:26 PM   #5
tsac
BlackBerry Mensa
 
tsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Others run out when we run in
Model: Z10
OS: Cheerios
PIN: No Pin just a Tack
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 9,972
Default Re: Will Verizon Factory Unlocked Z10 work on Telus?

Ok so is it working now?
__________________
Z10 on BES
Z10 on BIS
Offline  
Old 02-22-2014, 04:55 PM   #6
hasmattamsah
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Model: z10
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 7
Default Re: Will Verizon Factory Unlocked Z10 work on Telus?

tsac
No it is not ever going to work on Telus. Lesson to all would be Verizon users in Canada. The only band active is the GSM band for Rogers on the 2G network.
I tried with Telus today to light it up and we couldn't.
C'est la Vie...
Offline  
Old 02-23-2014, 02:05 PM   #7
tsac
BlackBerry Mensa
 
tsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Others run out when we run in
Model: Z10
OS: Cheerios
PIN: No Pin just a Tack
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 9,972
Default Re: Will Verizon Factory Unlocked Z10 work on Telus?

Reading on a few sites I see indications that Verizon does not support the frequency used by Telus on some phones



Telus uses the following frequencies:

LTE: 700MHz (Band 17) / 2100MHz (Band 7)

HSPA: 2100MHz (Band I) / 1900MHz (Band II) / 850MHz (Band V) / 900MHz (Band VIII)

GSM: 850MHz / 900MHz / 1800MHz / 1900MHz



700MHz LTE (lower band) 698-746MHz AT&T current 4G/LTE
700MHz LTE (higher band) 746-787MHz Verizon current 4G/LTE

Z10 (4G - Verizon)
LTE Band-13 (700 MHz)
CDMA Cell-band and PCS-band (800/1900 MHz)
WCDMA Band-1 and Band-8 (2100/900 MHz)
GSM/EDGE Quad Bands (850/900/1800/1900 MHz)



1. Bell HSPA 850/1900, LTE Band 4 (AWS), Band 7 (2600)
2. Rogers GSM 850/1900, HSPA 850/1900, LTE Band 4 (AWS), Band 7 (2600)
3. Telus HSPA 850/1900, LTE Band 4 (AWS)
__________________
Z10 on BES
Z10 on BIS

Last edited by tsac; 02-23-2014 at 02:07 PM..
Offline  
Old 02-24-2014, 09:45 AM   #8
hasmattamsah
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Model: z10
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 7
Default Re: Will Verizon Factory Unlocked Z10 work on Telus?

Thanks tsac
The Telus tech referenced the HSPA 850Mhz/1900Mhz freq.'s for their phones.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: Will Verizon Factory Unlocked Z10 work on Telus?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Verizon at Work but Cingular at Home - HELP PLEASE gandalf2041 General BlackBerry Discussion 3 12-22-2007 05:39 PM
Will a Verizon 7750 work in Canada on Bell or Telus? jwillisbarrie General BlackBerry Discussion 9 04-20-2006 01:15 PM

Steam Trap 1/2" Armstrong Inverted Bucket Model D7051
$42.0
Steam Trap 1/212V-24V DC Circuit Breaker Inline Fuse Inverter Waterproof Manual Reset 80 Amp
$6.99
12V-24V DC Circuit Breaker Inline Fuse Inverter Waterproof Manual Reset 80 Amp picture15KV 3.7V High Voltage Inverter Generator Spark Arc Ignition Coil Module DIY Kit
$3.99
15KV 3.7V High Voltage Inverter Generator Spark Arc Ignition Coil Module DIY Kit picture6 IN 1 Digital AC 80-260V 100A Voltmeter Power Energy Panel Meter For Inverter
$18.89
6 IN 1 Digital AC 80-260V 100A Voltmeter Power Energy Panel Meter For Inverter picture6 IN 1 Digital AC 80-260V 100A Voltmeter Power Energy Panel Meter For Inverter
$18.89
6 IN 1 Digital AC 80-260V 100A Voltmeter Power Energy Panel Meter For Inverter picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.