BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 05-01-2006, 04:13 PM   #1
serpico
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 8120
Carrier: TMO
Default My ideal phone - upcoming or am I just dreaming?

Please Login to Remove!

I currently have a 7100t and my 1yr contract with TMO is almost up, so I'm looking for a new phone. My major issue with the 7100t is the voice quality and noise cancellation, which is a widely reported issue on 7100 phones, even if BB won't acknowledge it.

Is there an existing model or upcoming model from any manufacturer with these features?
1. GSM 900, 1800, 1900 (love being able to use my phone internationally)

2. Good voice quality and background noise cancellation - IMHO and in the opinion of many others in the 7100 forum, the 7100 does quite poorly in this regard

3. Microsoft Outlook compatible PDA features

4. Phone-like form factor similar or smaller in size relative to 7100 (no brick-like BBs for me)

5. QWERTY-like keyboard. BB Suretype with 2 keys per button works well enough for me, but I wouldn't move to a 3 key per button layout b/c it would be too slow for anything but very short emails

6. Push email (addicted to BB instant email), though if someone makes a pull email device that can check frequently without draining the batteries, I'd be interested

7. Ability to do stuff like copy and paste (which I read in these forums that the Motorola Q, based on Windows Mobile, cannot do - wtf, are they joking??? What year are we in 2006 or 1996?)

Nice to haves: speakerphone, bluetooth, EDGE

Anything like this soon to be available? Or do I need to wait a year or two?

My guess would be that it will be easier for BB to make a 7100-like device with good voice quality than it will be for other manufacturers to match the BB when it comes to keyboard, instant email, etc.

Last edited by serpico; 05-01-2006 at 04:18 PM..
Old 05-01-2006, 04:21 PM   #2
digital/blasphemy
No longer Registered.

Model: 8700g