BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2009, 11:32 PM   #1
Mark Rejhon
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Default Solution: Fix 5.0.0.314 reboots on Bold!

Please Login to Remove!

2 out of 2 success rate so far!

1. Backup your SD Micro memory card to a folder on your computer
2. On the copy on your computer, delete all "BBThumbs.dat" files in all folders
3. In your BlackBerry, REFORMAT your SD Micro Memory card.
4. Copy your memory card contents from your computer back to the SD Micro memory card.

If you've got internal memory, do the same for your 1 gigabyte of internal device memory. Although that really can't be reformatted, you should be able to least delete the BBThumbs.dat files in this 'memory' too by accessing this in Mass Storage mode. Alternatively, you can temporarily set aside the memory card and use a different SD Micro card and reformat it.

I suspect RIM must have improved their filesystem scanner speed, and there's some stability bug in the filesystem scanner (and the .dat files appear to be some kind of fast thumbnail-index files on the memory card). It has happened before in varions versions of OS 4.6 likely because some optimized-performance thumbnails reader crashes when reading corrupted BBThumbs.dat files.

Besides, starting afresh actually improves the thumbnails performance after the initial lengthy scan. Also, your BlackBerry may be slow for a few minutes while the scanner is regenerating the BBThumbs.dat files in the background. But then you'll have a fast and stable BlackBerry afterwards.

Anyway, it seems to stabilize at least one cause of 5.0.0.314 random reboots.
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source

Last edited by Mark Rejhon; 10-24-2009 at 11:39 PM..
Offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 04:47 AM   #2
BlackBerry-Q8
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kuwait
Model: 9900
PIN: 27FE8EDB
Carrier: Zain Kuwait
Posts: 45
Thumbs up

it worked!!

my device keep rebooting every 30 min!! when i apply this method it's working fine

Thanks
__________________
BlackBerry Kuwait
PIN: 27FE8EDB
Offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 05:48 PM   #3
shawntdot
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 67
Default

I just had to reformat my media card. thanks.
Offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 07:35 PM   #4
Mark Rejhon
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Default

Update... I realized you can also reformat the internal memory too, in the new "Memory" screen of BlackBerry. So both the internal memory and the memory card can be reformatted. Reformat seems to work better than just using Mass Storage and deleting the BBThumbs.dat files directly.

Also, a clean install is also a safer bet (device wipe and install 5.0.0.314) as it solves other, different, possible causes of crash/reboots.

Just making sure all bases are covered, because 5.0.0.314 is really a good BlackBerryOS, and fire-breathingly fast when properly installed (about 2x to 5x faster than 4.6.0.230-4.6.0.260 range in my experience, including BlackBerry Browser, to things like application launching speed, etc.) It is almost as if RIM replaced the OS JVM, or did some mondo performance profiling & optimizing, or something.
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 08:23 PM   #5
ckinglam
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York, NY
Model: 9810
OS: 7.1.0.258
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 60
Default

Worked for me!
__________________
CKL
Blackberry TORCH 9800!

Retired: 9700, 9000, 8310, 8300, 8100
Offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 09:59 PM   #6
darkamikaze
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0
PIN: 20d94251
Carrier: AT&T or Cingular
Posts: 198
Default

now if only this version.. was official !
__________________
----
Blackberry. It tastes good.
----
Offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 10:36 PM   #7
ckinglam
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York, NY
Model: 9810
OS: 7.1.0.258
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 60
Default

I am experiencing issues with alarm clock not working. It would freeze when I go under menu> set alarm. I can manage to go back to other apps and after about 10 mins, it would then give me a unexpected exception message. Anyone else having this issue?
__________________
CKL
Blackberry TORCH 9800!

Retired: 9700, 9000, 8310, 8300, 8100
Offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 11:05 PM   #8
Mark Rejhon
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckinglam View Post
I am experiencing issues with alarm clock not working. It would freeze when I go under menu> set alarm. I can manage to go back to other apps and after about 10 mins, it would then give me a unexpected exception message. Anyone else having this issue?
My alarm works fine.
Do you have any 3rd party apps that hook into the alarm or calendar? Try disabling those temporarily. A clean OS install may also help too.
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 07:35 AM   #9
wojtas25
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
wojtas25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Poland
Model: Bold
OS: 5.0.0.411
Carrier: Orange PL
Posts: 20
Default

Thaks for your suggest, i will do that (also i though bout this same).


i made today test with Benchmark magic on 5.0.0.314 and it shows

from:
graphics: 35.7 poly/s
CPU: 1325322 ops/s
Speed Index: 1361.0

to:
graphics: 35.7 poly/s
CPU: 1410743 ops/s
Speed Index: 1446.4


My buddy which returns to OS 4.6 has:

graphics: 14.7 poly/s
CPU: 975925 ops/s
Speed Index: 990.6

Different is huge!
Offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 08:35 AM   #10
Raptor464
Kid Tested. Mom Approved.
 
Raptor464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana
Model: 9700
OS: 6.0.0.4xx
PIN: eapple under the sea
Carrier: T-mobile USA
Posts: 3,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wojtas25 View Post
Thaks for your suggest, i will do that (also i though bout this same).


i made today test with Benchmark magic on 5.0.0.314 and it shows

from:
graphics: 35.7 poly/s
CPU: 1325322 ops/s
Speed Index: 1361.0

to:
graphics: 35.7 poly/s
CPU: 1410743 ops/s
Speed Index: 1446.4


My buddy which returns to OS 4.6 has:

graphics: 14.7 poly/s
CPU: 975925 ops/s
Speed Index: 990.6

Different is huge!
Are you saying that your "from" results are using OS 5.0.0.238 and your "to" results are using OS 5.0.0.314?
__________________
BlackBerry 9700: OS 6.0.0.424 FLASH WHITE
The BlackBerry Zone VIP
Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/Raptor464
Offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 08:55 AM   #11
wojtas25
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
wojtas25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Poland
Model: Bold
OS: 5.0.0.411
Carrier: Orange PL
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptor464 View Post
Are you saying that your "from" results are using OS 5.0.0.238 and your "to" results are using OS 5.0.0.314?
Nope, im saying that my "from" & "to" results are using 5.0.0.314, i dont check on 5.0.0.238 But comparing to the OS 4.6 diffrrent is big. Beside OS *314 is much faster that *238, browser is better and loads pages faster, browsing pictures is more faster.
Offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 09:18 AM   #12
TTsoldier
CrackBerry Addict
 
TTsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
PIN: 2168B71A
Carrier: bmobile
Posts: 644
Default

My bold still reboots...
Offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 11:37 AM   #13
piester
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0.0.411
Carrier: att
Posts: 149
Default

Wirelessly posted

Mine too. Wiped. Reformated and still going crazy
Offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 12:27 PM   #14
atuarre
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lake Charles, LA and College Station, TX
Model: 9550
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 347
Default

How often are the reboots?

Secondly, you've already heard this, but you are using software that is not official, and by installing said software on your device, you take all the problems and risks that come with it.
__________________
Glenn
Offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 01:05 PM   #15
Shaolin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Calgary, Canada
Model: 9800
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 108
Default

Great.. after I read this post my Bold starts rebooting itself.. will have to try this fix now.
Offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 01:15 PM   #16
Mandizzle
BlackBerryFAQ.com Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TorontO
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.246
PIN: 2322E11D
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 471
Default

I've only had a couple of reboots but I will try this method. Thanks!
__________________
Blackberry Torch 9800
PIN #: 2322E11D
O/S: 6.0.0.246
Offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 01:28 PM   #17
wojtas25
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
wojtas25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Poland
Model: Bold
OS: 5.0.0.411
Carrier: Orange PL
Posts: 20
Default

After do that, i noticed one restart.
Offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 01:44 PM   #18
TTsoldier
CrackBerry Addict
 
TTsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
PIN: 2168B71A
Carrier: bmobile
Posts: 644
Default

Same as above. Has not restarted till this morning.. Will monitor it.
Offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 02:05 PM   #19
Shaolin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Calgary, Canada
Model: 9800
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 108
Default

Following the instructions didn't work until I did a battery pull.. so far it's been staying on for about an hour..
Offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 02:53 PM   #20
Shaolin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Calgary, Canada
Model: 9800
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 108
Default

Randomly rebooted twice since my last post.. I think i might revert back to 4.6 if this keeps up.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Tektronix TM503 3 Slot Power Module Mainframe 
$59.99
Tektronix TM503 3 Slot Power Module Mainframe  pictureTektronix TM501 Power Module Mainframe
$89.99
Tektronix TM501 Power Module Mainframe pictureTektronix TM503 3 slot Mainframe for TM500 plug ins
$35.0
Tektronix TM503 3 slot Mainframe for TM500 plug ins pictureChroma 6314 DC Electronic Load Mainframe with (2X) 63101 & (1X) 63103 Modules
$2000.0
Chroma 6314 DC Electronic Load Mainframe with (2X) 63101 & (1X) 63103 Modules pictureHP Agilent Keysight 8080A / 8091A / 8092A / 2 x 8093A Mainframe with 4 Plug-Ins
$39.99
HP Agilent Keysight 8080A / 8091A / 8092A / 2 x 8093A Mainframe with 4 Plug-Ins picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.