BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2009, 01:31 PM   #41
nobody7290
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,376
Default

Please Login to Remove!

The OP solution Did not work for me.
However, the number of crashes seems to be less frequent, when I switch off the WiFi.
Offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 03:06 PM   #42
Mandizzle
BlackBerryFAQ.com Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TorontO
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.246
PIN: 2322E11D
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 471
Default

I haven't had any reboots when charging. However, I did notice that when switched to 2G mode only I had a few reboots. In 3G no issues at all.
__________________
Blackberry Torch 9800
PIN #: 2322E11D
O/S: 6.0.0.246
Offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 10:30 PM   #43
purephase
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: May 2005
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 335
Default

It has to be network selection. We have a deadzone at work and it reboots like crazy whenever I'm in there. Outside of that area it is fine.
Offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 09:18 AM   #44
Klotar
CrackBerry Addict
 
Klotar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Winnipeg MB Canada
Model: 9700R
OS: 7.1.0.190
PIN: On Request
Carrier: Rogers Wireless
Posts: 902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by purephase View Post
It has to be network selection. We have a deadzone at work and it reboots like crazy whenever I'm in there. Outside of that area it is fine.
I agree with this theory over the media card bbthumbs.dat (although I am sure that corrupt bbthumbs.dat's do clear it up for some).

From reading elsewhere, 3G seems to work okay, but the handoff from 3G to 2G does not and causes a reboot. To test this, I switched to 3G only, and so far no reboots. I am going to test it further and go 2G only after I have given it sufficient time to confirm this. If that works, I will try 2G & 3G again, and if the reboots resume, I will keep it on either one until the next 5.0 (leaked or released).

Update: 2G only rebooted, so staying on 3G only (which if I understand, AT&T users cannot set their BB's to, as the option is not there).
__________________
-Klotar
Supervising Manager of the Department of Redundancy Department.
BlackBerry Certified Support Specialist
Offline  
Old 11-02-2009, 03:34 PM   #45
jimmyh
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
jimmyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vidalia, Louisiana
Model: 9810
OS: 7.1.0.258
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 79
Default

If you do a back-up through Desktop manager, can you then format your memory card then restore to the media card what was backed up on DM?
Offline  
Old 11-02-2009, 03:49 PM   #46
TTsoldier
CrackBerry Addict
 
TTsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
PIN: 2168B71A
Carrier: bmobile
Posts: 644
Default

We don't have a 3G network here as yet.. so.. I'm stuck on 2G >.>

As I got the drives showing up in My Computer now, I'll try formatting again.
Offline  
Old 11-02-2009, 04:26 PM   #47
TTsoldier
CrackBerry Addict
 
TTsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
PIN: 2168B71A
Carrier: bmobile
Posts: 644
Default

Just formatted. No reboots since :P LOL
Offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 09:38 AM   #48
TTsoldier
CrackBerry Addict
 
TTsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
PIN: 2168B71A
Carrier: bmobile
Posts: 644
Default

Well no reboots since yesterday... However. i do suspect it rebooted on me while I was sleeping... But, regardless.. No reboots so far :D
Offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 10:54 AM   #49
ad65
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 95
Smile

I have had no reboots since T-Mobile's outage.
Offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 02:34 PM   #50
TTsoldier
CrackBerry Addict
 
TTsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
PIN: 2168B71A
Carrier: bmobile
Posts: 644
Default

More reboots . yay -.-
Offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 04:17 PM   #51
dnldnl
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 3
Default

no fix yet....
Offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 10:14 PM   #52
atuarre
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lake Charles, LA and College Station, TX
Model: 9550
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnldnl View Post
no fix yet....
As stated before. This is a BETA OS that is not officially released. There will not be an official fix. You have two options available to you. You can either go to a previous release, or go back to an officially released version supported by RIM and the Carrier.
__________________
Glenn
Offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 08:08 AM   #53
TTsoldier
CrackBerry Addict
 
TTsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
PIN: 2168B71A
Carrier: bmobile
Posts: 644
Default

My phone just rebooted like 4 times within the last 5 mins. I can't take this anymore.Back to .238.
Offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 02:41 PM   #54
analytik
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0.0.610
PIN: 20DD893B
Carrier: T-mobile CZ
Posts: 11
Default

I've tried everything mentioned, and still had numerous reboots. (No wifi, bt, 3G, only EDGE.) Went back to .130 (yay tabbed browsing).
__________________
BB7100t -> Nokia E51 ewww -> 9000 T-Mobile
Offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 06:45 PM   #55
gberneck
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Jose
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 11
Default

I have had some rebooting issues but all of a sudden it has rebooted 6 times in the last hour, too! I may have to go down :(
Offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 03:18 PM   #56
nobody7290
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,376
Default maybe this is it ? Fix 5.0.0.314 reboots on Bold!

yesterday I disabled the "bedside mode" of the 9000.
no restarts since 24hrs - using 2G and wireless.

That does not mean, this fixes the problems, could be just coincidence + random luck.

But, if you like, try it out.
Offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 05:56 PM   #57
nexteli836man
CrackBerry Addict
 
nexteli836man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 639
Default

I have had Random reboots using that os i downgraded back so there is a bug in 5.0 yet
Offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 06:04 PM   #58
nobody7290
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,376
Default

Right, I also experienced this, but not as many as with this version. I had maybe 1 every 3 days, now, i had up to 10 each day.
Offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 05:50 AM   #59
nobody7290
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,376
Default

to early - today morning the device had again rebooted itself - this is also not a real fix.
Offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 07:29 AM   #60
TTsoldier
CrackBerry Addict
 
TTsoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.656
PIN: 2168B71A
Carrier: bmobile
Posts: 644
Default

After rebooting 4 times in 5 minutes, I could not take it anymore and went back to .238...

Waiting patiently on another leak / official os
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

SHANYI S230B Three Phase Digital Clamp Phase Meters Voltage Ammeter Power Meter
$659.99
SHANYI S230B Three Phase Digital Clamp Phase Meters Voltage Ammeter Power Meter picture830L Digital Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Multimeter Volt AC/DC Mini Tester Meter
$8.59
830L Digital Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Multimeter Volt AC/DC Mini Tester Meter pictureMini Handheld Analog Multimeter AC/DC Voltmeter Ammeter Ohm Fuse/Diodes Tester
$16.28
Mini Handheld Analog Multimeter AC/DC Voltmeter Ammeter Ohm Fuse/Diodes Tester picture Digital Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Multimeter Volt AC 750V DC Ohm Tester
$17.55
 Digital Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Multimeter Volt AC 750V DC Ohm Tester  pictureLarge Antique Weston A.C. Ammeter from the Milwaukee Road Railway
$44.98
Large Antique Weston A.C. Ammeter from the Milwaukee Road Railway  picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.