BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2005, 08:36 PM   #1
cannondale0815
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
cannondale0815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Singapore
Model: 8100
Carrier: SingTel
Posts: 15
Default 7100t OS 4.0 / BES 3.6 / Desktop 3.6 = Possible Combination?

Please Login to Remove!

Hi! First post. I searched the archives but didn't find a direct answer to this question here:

I currently have a 7100t with the default 3.8 OS on it. My company is using BES, probably version 3.6. And I am using the Desktop Manager version 3.6 (my company will not allow the 4.0 desktop to be installed at the moment, and I don't have admin rights to my work PC).

So the question of the day is: Can I upgrade my BlackBerry to OS 4.0 while continuing to connect to BES 3.6 and using Desktop Manager 3.6?

Note that I intend to perform the OS upgrade through my computer at home, where I have Desktop Manager 4.0 installed.

Any help appreciated!
-J
Offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 09:27 PM   #2
mobilehavoc
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
mobilehavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Model: None
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 204
Default

I heard bad things if you try to load OS 4.0 or use an OS 4.0 device with Desktop Manager 3.6....

I personally would not do it
Offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 10:22 AM   #3
bfrye
BBF Veteran User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hotwiring another Cessna
Model: OU812
Carrier: Nintendo
Posts: 3,492
Default

updating the OS on your device will require your company to reactivate your device on BES. That's if your company's security policies will even allow you to do it yourself.
Offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 05:49 PM   #4
mlomker
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Model: 8800
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 14
Default

I discovered that using the 3.6 desktop manager will corrupt the encryption key on the handheld. I spent about a week trying to figure out why users couldn't send emails at random--turns out they were trying to synch to the old software. The only fix I found was to re-run the enterprise activation process again.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

ICSH044A ICSTATION Blackberry Trackball breakout board 2.5V~5.25V
$6.58
ICSH044A ICSTATION Blackberry Trackball breakout board 2.5V~5.25V pictureNew Southern Charlie Blackberry Smoke Starr Black T-Shirt Size S to 2XL
$15.99
New Southern Charlie Blackberry Smoke Starr Black T-Shirt Size S to 2XL pictureNew Southern Charlie Blackberry Smoke Starr Black T-Shirt Size S to 2XL
$15.99
New Southern Charlie Blackberry Smoke Starr Black T-Shirt Size S to 2XL pictureNew Southern Charlie Blackberry Smoke Starr Black T-Shirt Size S to 2XL
$15.99
New Southern Charlie Blackberry Smoke Starr Black T-Shirt Size S to 2XL pictureNew Southern Charlie Blackberry Smoke Starr Black T-Shirt Size S to 2XL
$15.99
New Southern Charlie Blackberry Smoke Starr Black T-Shirt Size S to 2XL picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.