BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2010, 03:10 AM   #1
a102rd
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9630
OS: 4.7.1.61
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Starhub
Posts: 5
Default Blackberry Internet Service: not connected

Please Login to Remove!

I got a tour from sister as a gift. It's an unlocked Verizon unit. I have tried with BIS in Indonesia while I was there for holiday with a GSM network and it worked fine both 2G and 3G.

Then when I tried in Singapore (Starhub), the data access (BIS) didn't work and showed "not connected" and Host routing table shows nothing. I tried several battery pulls without solving the problem.
Network diagnostics shows:

PIN: xxxxxxxx MSISDN: xxxxxxxxxx Device Type: BlackBerry 9630 Application Version: v4.7.1.61 Platform Version: 4.1.0.81 Radio Data Activation: Yes Signal Level: -77 dBm Radio Access: UMTS Network: StarHub IP Address: 10.18.xx.xxx ICMP Ping Echo: Yes
BlackBerry Registration: No Connected to BlackBerry: Abort BlackBerry PIN-PIN: Abort

I remember it should display:
Blackberry Internet Service: mobile network, small blackberry logo next to the signal strength and network type (3G/EDGE/GPRS), when it's connected to blackberry service.

I called the provider and the reply was "....tour is not supported by the network because it's CDMA device..." which i think it's not true. It worked fine previously with overseas GSM network. Any comments for this?

Anybody has some suggestion how to overcome this?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 06:33 AM   #2
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default

yes your PIN of the BB, is still associated with the BIS in indonesia.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 06:33 AM   #3
ace2001
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Carolina
Model: 9930
OS: 7.0 1739
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 46
Default

I was in Singapore late last year and used my Tour with no problem.
Offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 06:49 AM   #4
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

Wow
Offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 07:50 AM   #5
a102rd
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9630
OS: 4.7.1.61
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Starhub
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightDraven View Post
yes your PIN of the BB, is still associated with the BIS in indonesia.
Thanks for your reply,

How can i remove this association with indonesia network?

That may be the problem as me and my sister using prepaid blackberry plan (only BIS) from the same carrier. She had been using it for a week before passed it to me.

Thanks
Offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 07:53 AM   #6
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

She will have to call the other carrier and ask them to remove the BlackBerry from their system.
Offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:13 AM   #7
a102rd
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9630
OS: 4.7.1.61
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Starhub
Posts: 5
Default

Wirelessly posted

Hi all,
I managed to get my tour connected to BIS using phillipine SMART blackberry prepaid. I didn't call indonesian network to release the PIN. It just worked when I subscribe the blackberry plan. I still don't understand why It couldn't connect with singapore-starhub network. Anyway,thanks to all that have replied my inquiry.
Offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:16 AM   #8
a102rd
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9630
OS: 4.7.1.61
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Starhub
Posts: 5
Default

Wirelessly posted

Hi all,
I managed to get my tour connected to BIS using phillipine SMART blackberry prepaid. I didn't call indonesian network to release the PIN. It just worked when I subscribe the blackberry plan. I still don't understand why It couldn't connect with singapore-starhub network. Anyway,thanks to all that have replied my inquiry.
Offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 02:43 AM   #9
someone 39
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: orange
Posts: 2
Default Bis Not Connected

HELLO! PLEASE HELP ME! i using a blackberry tour 9630 (verizon) unlocked with a orange sim.in menu -service status-bis-connection-not connected! i have a blackberry data plan on my sim card! but how can i resolve that problem ? also how can activate my gps ? in the menu dont appear any icon for gps !thanks
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Load Cell Amplifier HX711 Computer Component
$17.91
Load Cell Amplifier HX711  Computer Component pictureTriple Axis Accelerometer Breakout ADXL335 Computer Component
$23.81
Triple Axis Accelerometer Breakout ADXL335  Computer Component picture15 AD7821KN 9236 chip IRELAND 20 PIN ANALOG DEVICE computer 41v4
$49.99
15 AD7821KN 9236 chip IRELAND 20 PIN  ANALOG DEVICE computer 41v4 pictureComputer Boards Inc CIO-DAS48-PGA Analog Input Board Excellent Used Working
$249.99
Computer Boards Inc CIO-DAS48-PGA Analog Input Board Excellent Used Working  pictureANALOG WAY COMPUTER & HDTV & VIDEO & COMPONENT MULTI-SWITCHER SWITCH SMV415 HWY
$39.99
ANALOG WAY COMPUTER & HDTV & VIDEO & COMPONENT MULTI-SWITCHER SWITCH SMV415 HWY picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.