BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2009, 04:01 AM   #1
akamikey
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: CMHK
Posts: 7
Default GPS not working with Bell Tour

Please Login to Remove!

okay guys i did some research and found out that the GPS on Bell is lock only on blackberry apps is there any way to use GPS with 3rd party apps ie.google maps? any help is good.

or can i flash my tour with verizon or sprit version of the software to fix this problem?
__________________
BlackBerry 9700 Bold 2
Provider CMHK
Hp 8GB HCSD
Windows 7
Offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 05:05 AM   #2
SueWNY
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York City
Model: Tour
PIN: Ask!
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 42
Default

The answer to your questions is no. If your provider has GPS locked, then it's locked. GoogleMaps doesn't work on all Tours due to an incompatibility with a new chipset used in some of them (such as Sprint and possibly Bell's)

No you can't put Sprint or Verizon's software on your phone.
Offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 07:06 AM   #3
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

You could load Sprint or Verizon 9630 software, but it would have no affect on the GPS lock or GoogleMaps incompatibility issue.

All the software comes from RIM so it is all basically the same but each carrier adds a few options. All you need to do is delete the vendor.xml file before you load it.

But again, it will not fix the issue.

Check out the GPS & Maps section and the yello sticky at the top for reviews of many map apps for the BB. Might find something there to help.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 07:54 AM   #4
SueWNY
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York City
Model: Tour
PIN: Ask!
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 42
Default

Dubdub is right, I forgot about the vendor.xml fix!
Offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:39 PM   #5
hvacr
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4
Default

I use Bell, my gps is not locked.
Offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 02:26 PM   #6
SmoothRunnings
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.423
PIN: 21B694E3
Carrier: Virgin Mobile Canada
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akamikey View Post
okay guys i did some research and found out that the GPS on Bell is lock only on blackberry apps is there any way to use GPS with 3rd party apps ie.google maps? any help is good.

or can i flash my tour with verizon or sprit version of the software to fix this problem?
Did you ask Bell if there is a cost to enable the GPS service? I know when I talked to Rogers way back that they normally don't provide the GPS service for free to BIS or BES customers under the TOS policies you have to pay an additional fee for them to enable it on your device.

Forunately for me I have an old account with the original BES service so GPS is enabled by default! :o)

A.
Offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 02:53 PM   #7
rambo47
Latino Hasta La Muerte
 
rambo47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denville, NJ.
Model: 9370
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SueWNY View Post
The answer to your questions is no. If your provider has GPS locked, then it's locked. GoogleMaps doesn't work on all Tours due to an incompatibility with a new chipset used in some of them (such as Sprint and possibly Bell's)

No you can't put Sprint or Verizon's software on your phone.
THAT explains it! I could never get GPS to work with Google Maps, but it worked fine on BlackBerry Maps. I never gave it much thought as either will fill the bill for me. But it's always nice to get a clear explanation. Thanks SueWNY!
Offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 05:47 PM   #8
akamikey
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: CMHK
Posts: 7
Default

thanks for the info guys
__________________
BlackBerry 9700 Bold 2
Provider CMHK
Hp 8GB HCSD
Windows 7
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

1763-MM1 Allen-Bradley MicroLogix 1100 Memory Module with EEPROM Card
$144.0
1763-MM1 Allen-Bradley MicroLogix 1100 Memory Module with EEPROM Card pictureDurableB Programmer CH341A Series Burner Chip 24 EEPROM BIOS Writer 25 SPI
$6.27
DurableB Programmer CH341A Series Burner Chip 24 EEPROM BIOS Writer 25 SPI pictureEEPROM BIOS USB Programmer CH341A +SOIC8 + 1.8VAdapter + SOIC8 Adapter Kit Set
$6.0
EEPROM BIOS USB Programmer CH341A +SOIC8 + 1.8VAdapter + SOIC8 Adapter Kit Set pictureEEPROM BIOS USB Programmer CH341A +SOIC8 + 1.8VAdapter + SOIC8 Adapter Kit Set
$6.0
EEPROM BIOS USB Programmer CH341A +SOIC8 + 1.8VAdapter + SOIC8 Adapter Kit Set pictureEEPROM BIOS USB Programmer CH341A +SOIC8 + 1.8VAdapter + SOIC8 Adapter Kit Set
$12.79
EEPROM BIOS USB Programmer CH341A +SOIC8 + 1.8VAdapter + SOIC8 Adapter Kit Set picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.