BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2006, 08:43 AM   #121
anesone
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
anesone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Model: 9530
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 89
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by clrscr
Does anyone know a key to mark an email opened? I will read emails in OWA or Outlook and they are still unread on my BB so I need a way to mark them read quickly.
Type ALT, the "U". It will make an unread message read, and a read message unread.
Offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 11:08 PM   #122
kayd-
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8703e
Carrier: vzw
Posts: 1
Default

How does one remove original and or added ringtones to a 8703e phone? I am just trying to maintain a clean working phone and want some old stuff removed.. Thanks.
Offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 06:19 PM   #123
mc74
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 1
Default

i have an 8700 and when browsing the web, the lcd light turns off, it usually does so after about 30 seconds. i went into options, screen/keyboard, and changed the blackout timeout to 2 min, but it doesnt do anything. are there any suggestions? thanks.
Offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:10 AM   #124
anesone
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
anesone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Model: 9530
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kayd- View Post
How does one remove original and or added ringtones to a 8703e phone? I am just trying to maintain a clean working phone and want some old stuff removed.. Thanks.
As far as I am aware, you can only remove the tunes you added. You should be able to do this by going to Profiles, clicking the trackwheel and selecting Show Tunes, scroll to the added ringtones, click the trackwheel and select Delete.
__________________
_______________________________________________
Check out my BB tips website
Offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 09:01 AM   #125
morguth
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 7520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Nextel
Posts: 1
Question Auto open address book on Forward

I have one blackberry that opens the address book automatically when you try to forward an email, and another blackberry that doesn't. Anyone know of the setting that allows this?

They are they same version of blackberry (7520), but I am not sure if they are using the same version of software.
Offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:13 PM   #126
Stinsonddog
BBF Moderator
 
Stinsonddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California
Model: 9700
PIN: Agaboobie
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blahmike View Post
I didnt see any mention of this, and I was wondering if it's possible to set up the keyboard shortcuts that I had on my 7510. On the 7510, I was able to jump into different programs from the main screen with a touch of a keyboard shortcut ('M' went to messages, 'P' went to the call list, 'U' opened the calculater....)

I cant seem to recall how I set it up on the 7510, and I cant find those settings on the 7100G.

No home screen shortcuts on Suretype models. I have a 7100 tips sheet at my Tips site

http://home.comcast.net/~tamsterra/B..._72-71tips.pdf
__________________
Shortcuts Rule!! Download Link:[Stinsonddog's Blackberry Tips ] GET TORCHED
@ Stinsonddog
Offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 09:42 AM   #127
gino_lee
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 7250
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headtailgrep View Post
Useful for those looking to RETURN devices shortly after buying:

Options -> Status. Type "buyr". Shows Data Usage and Voice Usage, up to 250KB data, and up to 60 minutes voice. Useful due to fact carriers will only allow returns of devices if under a certain threshold..
is this possible on the 7250? I've tried going into the Options->Status where it shows you the signal, batter, etc. and i've typed in buyr. but nothing happens.

Is there another way to find out usage on the 7250?
Offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 11:02 AM   #128
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

I typed buyr in my Options >Status page on my 8320 and it came up with the new lines:

Data Usage: IT Policy Enabled
Voice Usage: IT Policy Enabled


Didn't give me any info but learned something I wasn't aware of.
Offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 11:05 AM   #129
juwaack68
iPhone Convert
 
juwaack68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tulip City - MI
Model: iP5
OS: 6.0.2
PIN: to beans
Carrier: I'm not
Posts: 13,877
Default

^^ Very Cool
__________________
No longer a BES Admin, but it was fun while it lasted!
Offline  
Old 10-12-2007, 05:27 PM   #130
rdj
New Member
 
rdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leesburg, Virginia USA
Model: 8830
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 11
Default "Macro" characters in AutoText replacement text

Until reading this helpful thread, I did not know about the RB and BR AutoText definitions that come pre-defined (in the 8830). Inspecting those definitions led me to to create some handy new definitions that others may find useful:

htp -> http://%B
hts -> https://%B
htw -> http://www.%B

The "%B" at the end of these is a "macro" that deletes the space you entered at the end of the "word" that AutoText recognized. That way, you can just keep typing the rest of the web address without backspacing manually.

"Help" in AutoText told me that while entering the replacement text for a new abbreviation, there is an "Insert Macro" menu item. You can use this -- or just type in the macro sequence yourself. Here are all of the macro sequences it lists:

%d -> short date
%D -> long date
%t -> short time
%T -> long time
%o -> owner name
%O -> owner info (signature)
%p -> phone number
%P -> PIN
%b -> backspace
%B -> delete
%% -> the single '%' character

What's the difference between %b and %B? Not sure I understand all of the nuances, but the built-in BR is defined as "(%B" and the built-in RB as "%b)" which has the effect of getting precisely the "right" spacing when using the abbreviations to insert punctuation characters.

(Would it be worth adding the table of macro sequences to the FAQ(s), or is that too geeky?)
Offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 08:58 PM   #131
stabilo66
New Member
 
stabilo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 7
Default

thanks for the tips !
Offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 04:45 PM   #132
PeaceOut
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 30
Default

Anyone know how to close an application with a key stroke instead of going to menu and scrolling down to the bottom for "close"?

Also is there an undo/redo key? Would be nice if you mistakenly deleted a row of text or pasted over something by accident.


Great thread with cool tips.
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 08:52 PM   #133
xbrandonx
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 502
Model: 7290
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 7
Default

nevermind, found it after re-reading the thread.

Last edited by xbrandonx; 03-25-2008 at 08:55 PM..
Offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 08:04 PM   #134
igsa@comcast.net
New Member
 
igsa@comcast.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: att
Posts: 1
Default Restore Application Shortcuts

I am unable to use the application shortcuts on the home screen (e.g. L for calendar, M for messages). I must have disabled it somehow. I did a wipe and the shortcuts came back. However when I did a restore, the shortcuts stopped working again. I verified that the Dial from Home Screen is set to No. Hope someone from the forum can help. Thanks in advance.

>>> Update: I just noticed that the input language was changed. I returned it to English and it works fine now. Duh!

Last edited by igsa@comcast.net; 11-02-2008 at 08:17 PM.. Reason: Fix found
Offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 04:46 PM   #135
Waythos
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Waythos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Model: 9530
OS: v4.7.0.75
PIN: 30518FD8
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 18
Red face Search Function shortcuts

I've looked in the search feature and can't find shortcuts for "Search Function" on the BB 8320. Maybe I'm just overwhelmed with the power I now hold in my hand. Any suggestions.
~Waythos
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

LOT 100 FAUX RASPBERRIES/BLACKBERRIES
$19.95
LOT 100 FAUX RASPBERRIES/BLACKBERRIES pictureOffice Chair Desk Ergonomic Swivel Executive Adjustable Task Computer High Back
$261.54
Office Chair Desk Ergonomic Swivel Executive Adjustable Task Computer High Back  pictureBakery retail spot labels/stickers (printed on silver foil) 500 lbls/roll
$8.99
Bakery retail spot labels/stickers (printed on silver foil) 500 lbls/roll pictureBakery retail spot labels/stickers (printed on silver foil) 500 lbls/roll
$6.99
Bakery retail spot labels/stickers (printed on silver foil) 500 lbls/roll pictureICSH044A ICSTATION Blackberry Trackball breakout board 2.5V~5.25V
$6.58
ICSH044A ICSTATION Blackberry Trackball breakout board 2.5V~5.25V picture






Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.