Closed Thread

Old 02-26-2009, 10:18 AM   #1
kpoland
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 8330
Carrier: Verizon
Default iPhone requests... And more...

Please Login to Remove!

Hi guys. While I realize this is the BlackBerryforums, I figured some of you BES admins must be running into the same thing I am: users are setting up their iPhones to connect to Exchange, and receive email.

In my company, this is a big, big problem. I work at one of the Am Law top 100 law firms (we pop in and out of that chart, anyway), and as such all of our data is sensitive. Passwords are mandatory on BB's, and we're pushing through an encryption policy in the near future.

I'm a BES admin. I don't know anything about iPhones. I know that it's a potential issue that users are just synching them up with Exchange, and we don't even know they're doing it. They aren't password protecting their devices, and if they're lost, it's a breach of sensitive and confidential information.

My question is 2 fold:

1. Is there a way to block iPhones from connecting to Exchange?
2. If not, is there a way to force security on iPhones like we can with BlackBerrys (such as mandatory passwords, and encryption)?

Thanks everyone
kx
"Sink or Swim" Educated
Old 02-26-2009, 11:14 AM   #2
knottyrope
BlackBerry Elite

Model: DT60
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors

Are you using SSL for OMA and OWA remotely?
No cert No email

there is a way to enforce password with iphones by createing a custom install script. You should look at iphone website for it.
It doesn't even matter

Rocking the Motion with out lotion.

Last edited by knottyrope; 02-26-2009 at 11:15 AM..
Old 02-26-2009, 11:26 AM   #3
kpoland
Thumbs Must Hurt

Yes on both. OMA/ActiveSync uses the same cert as OWA by default.

Is that bad? (I'm not an exchange guy - I don't know what this means - this reply was from our Exchange admin)
"Sink or Swim" Educated
Old 02-26-2009, 11:41 AM   #4
knottyrope
BlackBerry Elite