BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2009, 12:06 AM   #181
greggray
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: Storm
PIN: N/A
Carrier: VZ
Posts: 22
Default

Please Login to Remove!

I'm not sure we really need to be able to swipe down to change profiles. It just does not feel intuitive to me. The screen scrolling behavior is much more natural and I would not overload it. Perhaps it would be better to have a button that shows your current profile and when you press it a list of profiles comes up that you can choose from.

-Greg

Last edited by greggray; 03-04-2009 at 12:08 AM..
Offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 09:52 AM   #182
paulmac
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
paulmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Model: Storm
PIN: Ask
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 277
Default

Love the program, one (more) suggestion. A link in the program to check for updates. I love the fact that new updates are comming out quickly, but would like to have the app check and download the latest right from the BB.
__________________
Politicians are a lot like diapers and they should be changed often and for the very same reason. Visit www.fairtax.org
Offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 10:48 AM   #183
tbhuang2
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tbhuang2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 8130
OS: 4.5.0.169
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulmac View Post
Love the program, one (more) suggestion. A link in the program to check for updates. I love the fact that new updates are comming out quickly, but would like to have the app check and download the latest right from the BB.
I agree, this would indeed be very useful! I love having the newest of this software.
__________________
BB Wishlist:
-Gmail BIS integration with an effective 2-way read/unread sync solution
-Better integrated alarm (on legacy devices)
-Threaded SMS
Offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 10:55 AM   #184
visortgw
CrackBerry Addict
 
visortgw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Model: 9930
OS: 7.0.1.163
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulmac View Post
Love the program, one (more) suggestion. A link in the program to check for updates. I love the fact that new updates are comming out quickly, but would like to have the app check and download the latest right from the BB.
This is simply not practical during the alpha and beta phases of the software development cycle. Tateu maintains the change log (text file on website in original post) so that you can follow the rapid changes made available to test at your own discretion.
Offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 02:35 PM   #185
hd_rider
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 50
Default

Is there an issue with displaying the cuurrent conditions? Up until yesterday, I would see the conditions in addition to the temp (i.e., fair, sunny, partly cloudy, etc.). Now that has been replaced by "N/A". Is there something I need to look at to correct this?
Offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 04:41 PM   #186
tbhuang2
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tbhuang2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 8130
OS: 4.5.0.169
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 261
Default

For some reason, only my current and homescreen poll interval updates at the time interval I set it. I have my forecast poll interval set for 120 mins but really, it never updates until I hit the menu button and "update now". I've had BBWeather running in the background all night without it ever updating the forecast screens. Is this just me?
__________________
BB Wishlist:
-Gmail BIS integration with an effective 2-way read/unread sync solution
-Better integrated alarm (on legacy devices)
-Threaded SMS
Offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 04:50 PM   #187
fonejunkie
Just me
 
fonejunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: iFone
OS: iOS4
PIN: Not on my iPhone5
Carrier: iPhone5 on AT&T Mobility
Posts: 2,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbhuang2 View Post
For some reason, only my current and homescreen poll interval updates at the time interval I set it. I have my forecast poll interval set for 120 mins but really, it never updates until I hit the menu button and "update now". I've had BBWeather running in the background all night without it ever updating the forecast screens. Is this just me?
I have noticed the same thing... it's not just you...
Offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 05:04 PM   #188
greggray
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: Storm
PIN: N/A
Carrier: VZ
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hd_rider View Post
Is there an issue with displaying the cuurrent conditions? Up until yesterday, I would see the conditions in addition to the temp (i.e., fair, sunny, partly cloudy, etc.). Now that has been replaced by "N/A". Is there something I need to look at to correct this?
The problem is that when BBWeather was checking for current conditions it failed. Next time it connects it will fix the icon or open the app and return and it will be fixed right away. I would prefer that it keep the old icon if it is not over an hour or two out of date.

-Greg
Offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 06:25 PM   #189
Ultrafied
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2
Default

Great App! Dumped WB after using it since it came out. One question, can we make the text in the Home Screen Icon user selectable for a couple of colors? Sometimes the black color is hard to read on some theme/wallpaper changes.
Once again, this is a really nice app. Thanks!
Offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 09:21 AM   #190
visortgw
CrackBerry Addict
 
visortgw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Model: 9930
OS: 7.0.1.163
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 540
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultrafied View Post
Great App! Dumped WB after using it since it came out. One question, can we make the text in the Home Screen Icon user selectable for a couple of colors? Sometimes the black color is hard to read on some theme/wallpaper changes.
Once again, this is a really nice app. Thanks!
I believe that this is theme controlled. I use BB Dimension L theme (bundled with OS v4.5), at the text is black with a white outline, just like all of the other app rollovers.
Offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 12:20 PM   #191
mikadad
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
mikadad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CHULA VISTA, CA
Model: 9810
OS: 7.0.0
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tateu View Post
For the experimental and brave at heart, I have decided to put up alpha releases of BBWeather. This may get updated several times per day or not at all for a few weeks, months, years. It will depend on how motivated towards programming I feel and whether or not I have new features to implement or bugs to fix. At some point, when I have been running a new build for long enough without any issues, it will be put out as a regular release. These experimental releases will often have the same version number, so the only way to tell if it is newer than the build you currently have is to check the "list of changes" for a timestamp and compare that to the application description listed on your BB under Options->AdvancedOptions->Applications->BBWeather->Properties->Description.

These alpha releases are currently compiled under JDE v4.3 so they will most likely not work on any device with an OS less than 4.3 (don't even bother asking for an earlier version, I will not do it). When I put out one of these builds as official, I will then try to compile an older version that will function on v4.2 devices.

This link will always contain the latest version that I am currently testing/debugging on my own device.
http://www.tateu.net/software/bb.php?f=BBWeather_alpha

Warning: it may very well contain bugs or not even function at all.

It is also possible that the above link may be down for extended periods of time, without any warning. If I put up a version and then find a severe bug, I will immediately remove the link until I can get a new fixed version ready.

and to see a "list of changes":
http://www.tateu.net/software/BBWeather_alpha.txt

And after all the above, if there are any of you brave enough to try it...feel free to post bugs and/or suggestions/comments here. I can't promise I will pay any attention to them, but it can't hurt.

A more stable "official" release v0.83 is also available here:
http://www.blackberryforums.com/afte...ml#post1295719

what is Full supposed to show under rollover text?? shows bbweather and nothing more
__________________
Offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 10:11 AM   #192
Pink2
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Pink2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: So Cal
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pink2 View Post
I changed my settings back to the 30 min update for the home screen and have only gone into the app 1ce today and I am at 60% after 11 hours. I am on .167 OS if that has anything to do with it. Since this is Sat, I use my phone less and used less apps.
I wanted to update you on the issue about the battery drain - It seems that the app just needed to settle in, my battery usage has returned to normal. I haven't been opening the app though, I just have it updating the home screen and have conditions and temp there for me to view.
Offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 10:15 AM   #193
akosnitzky
BBF Moderator
 
akosnitzky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.333
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 14,484
Default

Well. Controlling the update settings will help with battery power regardless of OS or device
__________________
------
Follow @akosnitzky on Twitter

LET'S GO CANES!
Offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 06:08 PM   #194
Ultrafied
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by visortgw View Post
I believe that this is theme controlled. I use BB Dimension L theme (bundled with OS v4.5), at the text is black with a white outline, just like all of the other app rollovers.
Are you talking about the temperature within the icon itself, because that is what I am talking about. I understand the text color within the rollover which details temperature and condition.

Last edited by Ultrafied; 03-06-2009 at 06:10 PM..
Offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 07:34 AM   #195
visortgw
CrackBerry Addict
 
visortgw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Model: 9930
OS: 7.0.1.163
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 540
Question

I am running the latest BBWeather 0.84 alpha (2009-02-28 16:01:48 PST) for my 8830. I discovered a bug where if you select a Default Screen other than Current Conditions within Options, HomeScreen Updates do not occur when Enabled. This may be related to the fact that the HomeScreen icon is not automatically updated without first launching the app in order to pull the current conditions data.
Offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 07:41 AM   #196
paulmac
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
paulmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Model: Storm
PIN: Ask
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by visortgw View Post
I am running the latest BBWeather 0.84 alpha (2009-02-28 16:01:48 PST) for my 8830. I discovered a bug where if you select a Default Screen other than Current Conditions within Options, HomeScreen Updates do not occur when Enabled. This may be related to the fact that the HomeScreen icon is not automatically updated without first launching the app in order to pull the current conditions data.
Not sure if this is true. It may be more related to the theme you are running. I have my BB weather set to "current conditions" but I notice that some themes allow the icon to work and update, while other don't. Seems like a lot of new themes people are developing for the storm don't allow the icon to update.
__________________
Politicians are a lot like diapers and they should be changed often and for the very same reason. Visit www.fairtax.org
Offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 08:07 AM   #197
visortgw
CrackBerry Addict
 
visortgw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Model: 9930
OS: 7.0.1.163
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulmac View Post
Not sure if this is true. It may be more related to the theme you are running. I have my BB weather set to "current conditions" but I notice that some themes allow the icon to work and update, while other don't. Seems like a lot of new themes people are developing for the storm don't allow the icon to update.
I am using a standard RIM theme bundled with the OS -- BB Dimension L.
Offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 06:05 PM   #198
tateu
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.247
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by visortgw View Post
I am running the latest BBWeather 0.84 alpha (2009-02-28 16:01:48 PST) for my 8830. I discovered a bug where if you select a Default Screen other than Current Conditions within Options, HomeScreen Updates do not occur when Enabled. This may be related to the fact that the HomeScreen icon is not automatically updated without first launching the app in order to pull the current conditions data.
Are you sure? It works fine on my Bold OS v4.6.0.247. You know you have to go to the main Application Home screen before the text will update on the dock icon?
Offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 06:50 PM   #199
visortgw
CrackBerry Addict
 
visortgw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Model: 9930
OS: 7.0.1.163
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tateu View Post
Are you sure? It works fine on my Bold OS v4.6.0.247. You know you have to go to the main Application Home screen before the text will update on the dock icon?
I am aware that I need to go to the main application home screen before the text will update on the dock icon.

Let me try to expand on what is happening. First of all, no matter how long I wait, the text will not update (still shows "N/A") on either the device homescreen or the main application homescreen without first launching the BBWeather app in order to force it to retrieve the current conditions. This might be related to some changes you made a few iterations back:
V0.84 Alpha 2009-02-25 05:23:50 PST
* Changed 30 second delay before weather is downloaded when device first boots to 15 seconds

V0.84 Alpha 2009-02-24 18:52:14 PST
* Changed 60 second delay before weather is downloaded when device first boots to 30 seconds
I am wondering if the additional boot overhead associated with a BES configuration may be causing the initial attempt to download weather following boot to fail -- possibly the 15 second delay is too short. Just a thought...

Second, if I go through the following steps:
  1. change the Default Screen from Current Conditions to Daily Forecast on the BBWeather Options screen
  2. save changes;
  3. exit the app;
  4. reboot device;
  5. launch BBWeather (to force download of weather that doesn't occur automatically); and
  6. return to homescreen,
the icon still shows "N/A" on both homescreen icons, and rolling over either icon displays "BBWeather, time date". If I change the Default Screen option back to Current Conditions, and force an update, the icons (including conditons, text, and rollover text) are properly updated.

Hopefully, this clears things up a bit...
Offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 08:14 AM   #200
tbhuang2
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tbhuang2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 8130
OS: 4.5.0.169
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 261
Default

My hourly updates never update on its own... I don't think they ever did. Hourly forecast is my default screen. Same for N day forecast.
__________________
BB Wishlist:
-Gmail BIS integration with an effective 2-way read/unread sync solution
-Better integrated alarm (on legacy devices)
-Threaded SMS
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

RIM Blackberry R957M-2-5 Wireless Handheld 957 Internet Edition EarthLink NEW
$71.0
RIM Blackberry R957M-2-5  Wireless Handheld 957 Internet Edition EarthLink NEW  pictureHSABAT 0 Cycle 5250mAh TLP034E1 BAT-63108-003 Battery for BlackBerry keyone alca
$21.99
HSABAT 0 Cycle 5250mAh TLP034E1 BAT-63108-003 Battery for BlackBerry keyone alca pictureBLACKBERRY 7290 / 7290 (USED)
$9.0
BLACKBERRY 7290 / 7290 (USED) pictureBlackberry Smoke Band NEW DESIGN 2020 SHIRT SIZE S-2XL
$17.99
Blackberry Smoke Band NEW DESIGN 2020 SHIRT SIZE S-2XL pictureBlackberry Smoke Band NEW DESIGN 2020 SHIRT SIZE S-2XL
$17.99
Blackberry Smoke Band NEW DESIGN 2020 SHIRT SIZE S-2XL picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.