BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2010, 08:44 AM   #1
Mark2009
New Member
 
Mark2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Model: 9650
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 6
Default BB 9650, WIFI in house, did I do this correctly?

Please Login to Remove!

I wanted to use my WIFI as much as I could, I first went into manage connections, and thought I could shut off Mobile network verizon, I did, internet worked, but I did not recieve calls.

Next try, I have both mobile and wifi connected.

I went to options, advanced options, browser, and clicked on default browser, and clicked on hotspot browser.

It seems to work, is this correct?

My other question is when I leave the wifi area, do I have to change the browser default again, or is it smart enough that no wifi, so it uses the network?

I figure I would use wifi as much as i can for internet, since I have the 150mb plan...
Offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 09:44 AM   #2
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default

Yes that's correct.
No, you have to change it.
If default browser is hotspot, it will always be hotspot and will only ever use wi-fi.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 11:25 AM   #3
akosnitzky
BBF Moderator
 
akosnitzky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.333
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 14,484
Default

To answer your question, if you have wifi checked , it will find your saved settings. So yes to your question.
__________________
------
Follow @akosnitzky on Twitter

LET'S GO CANES!
Offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 11:36 AM   #4
Mark2009
New Member
 
Mark2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Model: 9650
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightDraven View Post
Yes that's correct.
No, you have to change it.
If default browser is hotspot, it will always be hotspot and will only ever use wi-fi.
So to be clear, when I leave the hotspot, it will use the Verizon service automatically, even though I have "use Hotspot default" for browsers setting.

Thanks
Offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 11:38 AM   #5
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default

No.
As I said, because the default browser is hotspot, it will only ever use wi-fi.
You would need to change it to internet browser for it to use the carrier network.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 11:43 AM   #6
Mark2009
New Member
 
Mark2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Model: 9650
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 6
Default

got it, understand now...

thank you
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

(2500FT) CAROL 1C 16AWG 16/1 105C 600V AWM WHITE MACHINE TOOL WIRE UNSHIELDED
$149.99
(2500FT) CAROL 1C 16AWG 16/1 105C 600V AWM WHITE MACHINE TOOL WIRE UNSHIELDED  pictureGENERATOR CABLE #940819002
$44.0
GENERATOR CABLE #940819002 pictureAD_ BL_ Portable 3 Pin Universal Compact Wire Wiring Connector Conductor Termina
$3.81
AD_ BL_ Portable 3 Pin Universal Compact Wire Wiring Connector Conductor Termina pictureUF B Cable Wire Copper Gray Solid 500 Ft. Grounded 2 Conductor Solid 10 Gauge
$425.92
UF B Cable Wire Copper Gray Solid 500 Ft. Grounded 2 Conductor Solid 10 Gauge pictureSouthwire 3BALU-0401-02 Single Conductor Cable, 120ft Spool, 4AWG, STR, Black*
$99.99
Southwire 3BALU-0401-02 Single Conductor Cable, 120ft Spool, 4AWG, STR, Black* picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.