BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2005, 07:13 AM   #1
bostonnerd
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Boston area
Model: z10
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 416
Default Cingular GSM /GPRS outages in the Boston area

Please Login to Remove!

Started yesturday afternoon. Cingular said there was a major nationwide outage. The outage would impact all GSM, and then GPRS only. GPRS came back shortly last night and is now out again.

Anyone else?
__________________
z10 on AT&T (plus an HTC One X)
Offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:07 AM   #2
ckent
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Boston
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 40
Default

None of my Cingular users have reported issues in Boston this morning. My 7290 dropped GPRS a few times but has been fine downton since 8am.
Offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 11:30 PM   #3
CyberJack
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
CyberJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Model: 8310
Carrier: ATT Wireless
Posts: 120
Default

I know, I know 3000 miles away, but the LA area lost TMO GPRS service about 6pm PDT Wed and came back on sometime during the night. (as an aside I am a Boston native, Go Sox!)
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:06 AM   #4
jeepguy1111
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 3
Default

I also have many users down with GPRS issues - Cingular /T-mobile


GO SOX - Hell Yea can you say x2
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:07 AM   #5
test
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 8100
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 129
Default

haha damn should have checked here first...just got off the phone with cingular and they said the same thing...
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:12 AM   #6
campsean
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: MD/DC Area (USA)
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 31
Default Cingular 7280 user in DC

Just got word that there is an outage in Washington, DC.

Looks like East coast is affected.

No ETA when we'll be back online.
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:20 AM   #7
tafische
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 66
Default

Yep...we are down in Tennessee. Funny thing is my Radio has been turning off / on by itself for a while now. Very strange.
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:20 AM   #8
scott123
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 13
Exclamation

I'm over in Milwaukee, WI.

Nothing's working here. Cingular, Nextel, Tmobile...etc...None of them!
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:24 AM   #9
stonent
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
stonent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Model: 8220
PIN: FFFFFFFF
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,734
Default

In Fort Worth, we've been having issues with T-Mobile phones switching to GSM mode and not switching back. I've had to tell people to remove their batteries and when the phone comes back up, it works again.
__________________
Stonent

Prior: BES: 7510, 7520, 7290, 7230, 7130, 8220 (No Data Plan), Droid Eris
Post your question on the forum, don't PM me.
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:25 AM   #10
penguin3107
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Default

No data service on Long Island for any of our Blackberries. We have Cingular, Nextel, Verizon and T-Mobile.

I guess its safe to assume that this problem is on the RIM network, and not the individual carriers ?
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:27 AM   #11
dulcamara
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
dulcamara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: RDU
Model: 9810
OS: 7.0.0.261
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 343
Default

Cingular told me it's RIM's problem. I see GPRS but get no mail, either from the BIS or link2exchange.
__________________
BIS (ATT)
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:34 AM   #12
tgray
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
tgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Model: 8310
PIN: 243b354f
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 148
Default

I was told it is affecting all Nextel, Cingular, and Tmobile users in North America.
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:38 AM   #13
stonent
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
stonent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Model: 8220
PIN: FFFFFFFF
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,734
Default

Well my Nextel is working fine. Try sending yourself a PIN.
__________________
Stonent

Prior: BES: 7510, 7520, 7290, 7230, 7130, 8220 (No Data Plan), Droid Eris
Post your question on the forum, don't PM me.
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:49 AM   #14
test
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 8100
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 129
Default

anyone get anything out of this problem?
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:52 AM   #15
Stabs
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Stabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 8130
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 104
Default

T-mobile told me it was a state wide GPRS problem and there was no ETA on resolution, so the whole United States should be affected.
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:53 AM   #16
Dr Xavier
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7230
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stonent
In Fort Worth, we've been having issues with T-Mobile phones switching to GSM mode and not switching back. I've had to tell people to remove their batteries and when the phone comes back up, it works again.
I had this problem a couple months ago its from t mobile upgrading thier switches. Their towers are not carrying the correct signals. What happens is blackberrys need incoming, outgoing, and something else. Your tmobile switches are not configured correctly and it's only functioning with two of the three required signals for blackberrys. If it's not working after this whole outage is done call tmobile incessantly and make them fix this.
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 10:04 AM   #17
stonent
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
stonent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Model: 8220
PIN: FFFFFFFF
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,734
Default

Oh I reported it to them and they said "I'm not showing any issues in Fort Worth" and that's as far as I could get with them.
__________________
Stonent

Prior: BES: 7510, 7520, 7290, 7230, 7130, 8220 (No Data Plan), Droid Eris
Post your question on the forum, don't PM me.
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 10:06 AM   #18
PajamaGuy
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 26
Default No joy in Houston

Houston'd dead for data too. And I just had my transmitter turn itself off. Turned it back on myself and GPRS is on. Still no data.
__________________
PajamaGuy
8800 - HS820
Fortte - Flip Style PDA Case
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 10:08 AM   #19
joemz
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 191
Default

Cingular data support says its RIM server outage, affecting web and BES. no ETA. Said that in a few hours the smart thing to do is a soft reset, which is removing battery without turning off the unit first. They said even without that the BB should work once the service is back up, but sometimes a particular BB will get 'stuck', and the soft reset will force a registration, which will fix anything
Offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 10:09 AM   #20
macberry12
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
macberry12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: in the Lone Star state
Model: 8100
Carrier: Cingular now AT&T
Posts: 31
Default spotty coverage in texas too

ours here in the Lone Star state starting acting up yesterday afternoon...still having major problems getting email forwarded to the 7290 from BWC. I was on the phone 30 minutes with Customer Care this morning...said it could be at least 24 hours or longer before its resolved.

It's going to be a long weekend....(sigh.)
__________________
Addicted to the crackberry in the Lone Star state
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Prodigit 3310 3311 3314 DC Electronic Load 3300A Electronic Load Mainframe
$1399.99
Prodigit 3310 3311 3314 DC Electronic Load 3300A Electronic Load Mainframe  pictureTektronix TM504 TM500 System Benchtop 4-Slot Power Supply Mainframe
$49.95
Tektronix TM504 TM500 System Benchtop 4-Slot Power Supply Mainframe pictureTektronix TM 5006A Mainframe with Opticals and Programmable Scanners
$399.99
Tektronix TM 5006A  Mainframe with Opticals and Programmable Scanners pictureinnovative electronic designs IED 5000 power supply main frame with cards
$50.0
innovative electronic designs IED 5000 power supply main frame with cards pictureAgilent E4200B Broadband Mainframe Test System w/ E4208B, E6282A, E4209B, E1697A
$225.0
Agilent E4200B Broadband Mainframe Test System w/ E4208B, E6282A, E4209B, E1697A picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.