BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   Mac Users Corner (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=61)
-   -   Desktop Software for Mac? (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=132660)

Blackberryer 05-30-2008 10:33 PM

Desktop Software for Mac?

I'm new to using a BB with a Mac and wondered if the Desktop App that comes on CD with the phone is supposed to run on a Mac? I tried loading it but the disc looked empty when I did.

Do I have a bad disc or am I getting my first taste of life using a BB with a Mac?

(For what it's worth, Pocketmac worked like a charm. Yes, I was surprised too after all I had read.)

penguin3107 05-30-2008 10:36 PM

No, it's not supposed to run on a Mac. The CD that comes with the BlackBerry is for Windows only.

finch 05-30-2008 11:52 PM

Unfortunately not, try PocketMac or Missing Sync for BlackBerry

BBSwany 05-31-2008 10:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blackberryer (Post 950764)
I'm new to using a BB with a Mac and wondered if the Desktop App that comes on CD with the phone is supposed to run on a Mac? I tried loading it but the disc looked empty when I did.

Do I have a bad disc or am I getting my first taste of life using a BB with a Mac?

(For what it's worth, Pocketmac worked like a charm. Yes, I was surprised too after all I had read.)

PocketMac does the job in keeping contacts, calendar, and such in line. Using BB and Mac together is a little difficult at first but you'll get used to it. :smile:
Hopefully Desktop Manager 4.5 or 4.6 will have Mac support.

Blackberryer 06-01-2008 02:29 PM

Wow, very disappointing to read all of this. I know Macs don't make up the majority, but we're hardly a tiny market. You'd think a company like RIM would appreciate and "get" Apple and throw us all a bone.

jdoom 06-01-2008 09:57 PM