BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   Aftermarket Software (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   WebMessenger Workaround (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=71)

bb_tech 08-20-2004 05:31 PM

WebMessenger Workaround

When you download WebMessenger it is a 30-day trial. Well, when the 30-day trial expires, do the following:

Go into Desktop Manager
Go to Backup/Restore
Go to Advanced
Highlight RMS database on the right-hand side
Clear RMS database

Voila...you now have the 30-day trial back without having to reload the software. I have been using the "trial" version of WebMessenger for 7 months now :lol:

Tom 08-20-2004 05:39 PM

Sure, there are ways around it, but its much better to actually purchase the product, as its not exactly that expensive.

Without companies like Webmessenger, we wouldnt even have products such as Webmessenger for RIM.. therefore its good to support them.

I am debating whether or not to lock this, but for the time being I will leave it open.

Mark Rejhon 08-20-2004 06:23 PM

Hi,

I really feel that this is something you should pay for.

If you cannot afford WebMessenger, get one of the many cheaper instant-messaging clones now Blackberry compatible instead:
http://midlet.org/category.jsp?parentLevel=222
(Load this URL on your Blackberry and do an Over-The-Air download. IM+ is one that also works)

Although WebMessenger has the superior user interface in my experience, the other programs I tested were more usable than WAP instant messaging and could suit your needs at your budget. (I like WebMessenger's split-screen full-duplex chatting that takes little effort compared to other instant messaging solutions ... I just type messages and hit Enter, type another message, hit Enter, and so on, without ever using the thumbwheel .... while in a splitscreen the incoming messages show up)