BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   General 8300 Series Discussion - Curve (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   Does BB run multiple apps at once? (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=193245)

Swift_Lippin 06-10-2009 06:02 PM

Does BB run multiple apps at once?

I am new to the blackberry world by about a day. I came from windows mobile where my phone ran more than one app at a time and if my device ran slow, I could shut down apps from running via a device manager. Is there anything like that on a BB or does it only run one at a time?

Thanks for helping a noob!

juwaack68 06-10-2009 06:09 PM

Yes, you can run multiple apps at once and use a 'task switcher'-like shortcut to go from app to app.

And welcome to the forums!

Swift_Lippin 06-10-2009 06:10 PM

Is the task switcher the "switch task" button I get from the menu? If so, how do I shut down the apps I don't need running?

Thanks for the help and the welcoming!

juwaack68 06-10-2009 06:13 PM

Yes, or you can hold down the ALT key and press the escape key (swirly arrow button right of trackball) and you'll get the app/task switcher ribbon in the middle of the screen.

To close most 3rd party apps there should be 'Close' or 'Exit' option from that apps main menu.

Some apps will remain 'running' in the background - Messages, Call Log, Browser, and BB Messenger.

aiharkness 06-10-2009 06:20 PM

Wirelessly posted (8820)

And one other thing: some aftermarket apps have the capability to go into the background when closed. You can exit with one command and shift to background when closed. Pay attention to that when you install a new app so you know what's what.

juwaack68 06-10-2009 06:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aiharkness (Post 1403595)
shit to background when closed

HAHAHAHAHAH! Best post all day ;-)

aiharkness 06-10-2009 06:37 PM

Wirelessly posted (8820)